MOTOGP: Iannone stays in top in second practice

MOTOGP: Iannone stays in top in second practice


MOTOGP: Iannone stays in top in second practice


Ducati rider Andrea Iannone completed a sweep of Friday’s two practice sessions for MotoGP’s Dutch TT at Assen.

Iannone will start Sunday’s race from the rear of the grid due to his Barcelona penalty for collecting Jorge Lorenzo, but underlined his pace in the Netherlands after also topping the morning session.

Unlike the first session, Iannone only moved to the top of the times late, and his 1m33.951s was only 0.004 seconds clear at the top.

Iannone displaced Valentino Rossi, who jumped up from 11th to top spot momentarily on his Yamaha, while Honda’s Marc Marquez and Suzuki’s Maverick Vinales made it four different brands inside the top four.

Championship leader Marquez led the way for the bulk of the session, regrouping from setting only the 11th fastest time in first practice by finding more than one second during his first run. He improved again late to a 1m33.724s but wound up 0.133s behind Iannone, with Vinales 0.301s off the ultimate pace.

Lorenzo was fifth, ahead of factory and satellite Ducati riders Andrea Dovizioso and Danilo Petrucci, while Aleix and Pol Espargaro were eighth and ninth for Suzuki and Tech3 Yamaha, respectively.

With rain forecast for Saturday, Scott Redding secured what is provisionally the final place in the second phase of qualifying with 10th place.

Honda’s Dani Pedrosa was 11th, one spot ahead of Hector Barbera, who crashed at Osserbroeken, the third right-hander early in the lap, while 15th-placed Eugene Laverty came unstuck at the Strubben hairpin.

Alvaro Bautista crashed at both first-sector corners on his Aprilia, Osserbroeken early and Strubben late, winding up 20th.


Pos Rider Team Bike Time Gap Laps
1 Andrea Iannone Ducati Ducati 1m33.591ss 1m33.591s 20
2 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha 1m33.595ss 0.004s 20
3 Marc Marquez Honda Honda 1m33.724ss 0.133s 20
4 Maverick Vinales Suzuki Suzuki 1m33.892ss 0.301s 19
5 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Yamaha 1m33.991ss 0.400s 20
6 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati 1m34.011ss 0.420s 21
7 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati Ducati 1m34.065ss 0.474s 21
8 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki Suzuki 1m34.087ss 0.496s 19
9 Pol Espargaro Tech3 Yamaha Yamaha 1m34.163ss 0.572s 17
10 Scott Redding Pramac Ducati Ducati 1m34.172ss 0.581s 17
11 Dani Pedrosa Honda Honda 1m34.206ss 0.615s 20
12 Hector Barbera Avintia Ducati Ducati 1m34.404ss 0.813s 15
13 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda Honda 1m34.480ss 0.889s 17
14 Bradley Smith Tech3 Yamaha Yamaha 1m34.531ss 0.940s 21
15 Eugene Laverty Aspar Ducati Ducati 1m34.789ss 1.198s 17
16 Jack Miller Marc VDS Honda Honda 1m35.008ss 1.417s 18
17 Stefan Bradl Aprilia Aprilia 1m35.056ss 1.465s 19
18 Yonny Hernandez Aspar Ducati Ducati 1m35.125ss 1.534s 18
19 Michele Pirro Avintia Ducati Ducati 1m35.220ss 1.629s 15
20 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Aprilia 1m35.284ss 1.693s 12
21 Tito Rabat Marc VDS Honda Honda 1m36.582ss 2.991s 19


Originally on

MX-5 Cup | Round 2 – Daytona | Livestream