Skip Barber Racing School alumni flourish in open-wheel series around the world

Skip Barber Racing School alumni flourish in open-wheel series around the world

Latest Stories

Skip Barber Racing School alumni flourish in open-wheel series around the world

With another year under our belt, the racing season has seen its share of iconic narratives, races and winners. Skip Barber Racing School takes pride in its 40-year history of creating champions, and 2015 is no exception. Within the ranks of open-wheel racers, Skip Barber Racing School alumni dominated. From the upper echelons of motorsports including F1 and IndyCar, Skip Barber Racing School’s footprint has been cemented for another year.

“We’re proud of our alumni,” says Director of Competition, Casey Carden. “And we continue to see their careers flourish, and it’s amazing to know they started their careers with programs we still hold today. They had a dream, they worked hard towards it and now they are doing something they love. Nothing excites us more than seeing our alumni succeed.”

Below is a top-level view of the top 5 racers in their respective series (bolded names are Skip Barber Racing School alumni).


Scott Dixon
Juan Pablo Montoya (also won the Indianpolis 500)
Will Power
Graham Rahal
Helio Castroneves


Spencer Pigot
Jack Harvey
Ed Jones
RC Enerson
Max Chilton


Santiago Urrutia
Neil Alberico
Garett Grist
Weiron Tan
Timothe Buret


Nico Jamin
Jake Eidson
Aaron Telitz
Anthony Martin
Parker Thompson


Nick Neri
Vinicius Papareli
Jackie Ding
Jose Armida
Jason Bell


Lando Norris
Ricky Collard
Colton Herta
Sennan Fielding
Matheus Leist


Stoffel Vandoorne
Alexander Rossi
Sergey Sirotkin


American Alexander Rossi, a product of the Skip Barber Racing School system, contested five races this season and showcased his potential in the world championship. Another notable alumnus who raced in the 2015 Formula 1 season was Sergio Perez, who finished ninth overall.

Lewis Hamilton
Nico Rosberg
Sebastian Vettel
Kimi Raikkonen
Valtteri Bottas

About the Skip Barber Racing School

For 40 years, Skip Barber Racing School operates a fully integrated system of racing schools, driving schools, racing championships, corporate events and special projects across North America. No other organization delivers such a combination of high quality instruction, equipment, facilities and memorable experiences. Skip Barber Racing School is the leader in training motorsport legends of the future through entry-level, equal car championships. The athletes are given media exposure, expert coaching, on-track arrive-and-drive experience, financial awards and motorsport scholarships. Skip Barber Racing School launched the auto racing careers of Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger, Raphael Matos, John Edwards, Conor Daly, Josef Newgarden, Spencer Pigot and many more.