Formula E: FIA homologates new powertrains

Formula E: FIA homologates new powertrains

Formula E

Formula E: FIA homologates new powertrains



The FIA has homologated the eight powertrains that will be used in the second season of Formula E as the championship opens up to manufacturer competition.

Eight of the 10 teams will use equipment of their own design or created in collaboration with their technical partners, but Team Aguri will continue with the original SRT_01E car used by all teams in the first season and Dragon Racing will partner with Venturi and run its VM200-FE-01.

For the 2015/16 season only the cars’ powertrains will be open for development with the chassis remaining standard.

The e-motor, inverter, gearbox and cooling system can all be changed for the second running of the championship.

The changes allow greater manufacturer involvement, with Renault escalating its collaboration with reigning teams’ champion e.Dams to enter what will be known as the Renault Z.E.15.

Citroen’s DS brand is also joining FE in partnership with Virgin Racing, whose 2015/16 entry will be named the Virgin DSV-01.


ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport (ABT Schaeffler FE01)
Andretti Formula E Team (Andretti ATEC-01)
Dragon Racing (Venturi VM200-FE-01)
DS Virgin Racing Formula E Team (Virgin DSV-01)
Mahindra Racing Formula E Team (Mahindra M2ELECTRO)
NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team (NEXTEV TCR FormulaE 001)
Renault e.Dams (Renault Z.E.15)
Team Aguri (SRT_01E)
Trulli Formula E Team (Motomatica JT-01)
Venturi Formula E Team (Venturi VM200-FE-01)

Originally on