IndyCar: Castroneves penalized for Indy GP first-turn incident

IndyCar: Castroneves penalized for Indy GP first-turn incident

IndyCar

IndyCar: Castroneves penalized for Indy GP first-turn incident

IndyCar officials have penalized Team Penske driver Helio Castroneves of Team Penske for violating Rule 9.3.3 (avoidable contact), over his collision with Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon that triggered a multi-car pile-up on the opening lap of Saturday’s Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis. Castroneves has been penalized eight points in the Verizon IndyCar Series drivers point standings.

“Following every event, the IndyCar race stewards conduct a review of all racing incidents utilizing all the tools available – including car data, video replays and interviews with the competitors involved,” said Derrick Walker, president of competition and operations for IndyCar. “With the benefit of additional camera angles during our post-race review of Saturday’s race, the stewards determined actions of the No. 3 car (Castroneves) were the cause of the first-lap incident. This obviously changed our view of the entire incident.

“At the conclusion of every post-race review, all penalty options are available to the stewards and they determined an avoidable contact penalty was warranted.”

Castroneves and his team may contest the penalty if they so choose.

More RACER
Home