GP3: Zamparelli tops first day of testing

GP3: Zamparelli tops first day of testing


GP3: Zamparelli tops first day of testing


Dino Zamparelli set the pace on the opening day of 2014 pre-season testing for the GP3 series at Estoril.

The ART driver finished the morning session with a time of 1m29.145s, a benchmark that would stay unbeaten after the afternoon session was hit by heavy rain.

The downpour, however, came after Jimmy Eriksson had managed to top the times after the lunch break to finish less than a tenth of a second off Zamparelli’s time.

Briton Alex Lynn was third quickest for Carlin, ahead of teammate Emil Bernstorff and Nick Yelloly in the Status car. All their times were set in the morning.

Rain hit the circuit some 45 minutes into the afternoon session, with the teams limiting their running after that point.

Victor Carbone caused the first red flag of the day when his Trident car stopped on track early in the afternoon. Luis Sa Silva triggered the second stoppage when he spun into the gravel while the track was wet.

GP3 newcomer Hilmer was absent from the test and will join the action later this month at Jerez.

Morning times

Pos Driver                 Team           Time      Laps
 1. Dino Zamparelli        ART            1m29.145s  35
 2. Alex Lynn              Carlin         1m29.402s  28
 3. Emil Bernstorff        Carlin         1m29.575s  29
 4. Nick Yelloly           Status         1m29.666s  18
 5. Richie Stanaway        Status         1m29.922s  29
 6. Roman De Beer          Trident        1m30.029s  34
 7. Robert Visoiu          Arden          1m30.126s  20
 8. Luis Sa Silva          Carlin         1m30.260s  24
 9. Melville McKee         Jenzer         1m30.267s  27
10. Santiago Urrutia       Koiranen GP    1m30.295s  23
11. Nelson Mason           Trident        1m30.339s  28
12. Ryan Cullen            Manor          1m30.356s  33
13. Jimmy Eriksson         Koiranen GP    1m30.424s  17
14. Alex Fontana           ART            1m30.815s  14
15. Jann Mardenborough     Arden          1m30.907s  18
16. Patric Niederhauser    Arden          1m31.174s  13
17. Marvin Kirchhofer      ART            1m31.188s  22
18. Dean Stoneman          Manor          1m31.351s  15
19. Alfonso Celis Jr       Status         1m31.919s  24
20. Pal Varhaug            Jenzer         1m32.393s  28
21. Victor Carbone         Trident        1m32.538s  15
22. Carmen Jorda           Koiranen GP    1m39.309s  12
23. Adderly Fong           Jenzer         no time     1

Afternoon times

Pos Driver                 Team           Time      Laps
 1. Jimmy Eriksson         Koiranen       1m29.183s  24
 2. Dean Stoneman          Manor          1m29.781s  22
 3. Marvin Kirchhofer      ART            1m30.105s  25
 4. Richie Stanaway        Status         1m30.202s  20
 5. Alex Lynn              Carlin         1m30.324s  17
 6. Santiago Urrutia       Koiranen GP    1m30.324s  19
 7. Robert Visoiu          Arden          1m30.454s  21
 8. Luis Sa Silva          Carlin         1m30.567s  21
 9. Patrick Kujala         Manor          1m30.911s  22
10. Nick Yelloly           Status         1m30.948s  18
11. Alfonso Celis Jr       Status         1m30.980s  26
12. Adderly Fong           Jenzer         1m31.243s  15
13. Emil Bernstorff        Carlin         1m31.255s  21
14. Patric Niederhauser    Arden          1m31.927s  18
15. Ryan Cullen            Manor          1m32.045s  21
16. Victor Carbone         Trident        1m32.907s  16
17. Pal Varhaug            Jenzer         1m32.956s  16
18. Carmen Jorda           Koiranen GP    1m36.439s   6
19. Melville McKee         Jenzer         1m38.574s  10
20. Nelson Mason           Trident        1m38.917s  30
21. Jann Mardenborough     Arden          1m40.151s  17
22. Roman De Beer          Trident        1m43.051s  27
23. Dino Zamparelli        ART            1m48.388s  14
24. Alex Fontana           ART            2m00.662s   3

Originally on