Formula E unveils Beijing circuit

Formula E unveils Beijing circuit

Formula E

Formula E unveils Beijing circuit


Formula E has unveiled the track layout for its inaugural race, which will be held around the grounds of China’s “Bird’s Nest” Olympic Stadium in Beijing. The temporary circuit, which will host the first Formula E race on Sept. 13, is 3.44km long and features 20 corners plus a unique U-shaped pitlane layout.

Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag said: “Today’s unveiling of the Beijing circuit marks a very special moment in the evolution of the FIA’s Formula E championship. Now people can visualise where it will all come together to put on the world’s first fully electric [open-wheel] race, which we’re sure is going to be an amazing spectacle.

“Getting to this stage has taken an enormous effort from everyone involved and I’d like to personally thank them for helping us turn the FIA’s vision into a reality.”

Former series development driver Lucas di Grassi, who has signed to race for the Audi supported Abt entry, highlighted the first and last corners at the best overtaking spots on the track.

Formula E calendar

 1. Beijing, China             September 13, 2014                       
 2. Putrajaya, Malaysia        October 18, 2014                       
 3. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil     November 15, 2014                       
 4. Punta del Este, Uruguay    December 13, 2014                       
 5. Buenos Aires, Argentina    January 10, 2015                       
 6. Los Angeles, USA           February 14, 2015                       
 7. Miami, USA                 March 14, 2015                       
 8. Monte Carlo, Monaco        May 9, 2015                       
 9. Berlin, Germany            May 30, 2015                       
10. London, UK                 June 2, 2015    

Originally on