NASCAR: Hamlin heads crash-marred Daytona Duel

NASCAR: Hamlin heads crash-marred Daytona Duel

Cup Series

NASCAR: Hamlin heads crash-marred Daytona Duel


Denny Hamlin took the win amid a chaotic finish to the second of Thursday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Duel races at Daytona.

The earlier race had run its full 60 laps without incident, and for 59-and-a-half laps, it appeared that the follow-up was going to be similarly uneventful. That ended when Jimmie Johnson ran out of fuel while running mid-pack and was tagged by Jamie McMurray.

The contact triggered a multi-car accident involving Martin Truex Jr, Michael Waltrip, David Ragan, and Clint Bowyer, whose car completed a full barrel-roll in the air before landing back on its wheels.

“I feel terrible,” said Johnson. “I knew I was going to get run over if I ran out, and I did.

“The good thing is that everybody is fine, but I feel bad for tearing up so many racecars.”

{igallery id=7460|cid=64|pid=5|type=category|children=0|addlinks=0|tags=|limit=0}

Prior to the crash, the race had been divided into two distinct parts. During the first, proceedings were dictated by Brad Keselowski, but the Penske driver was forced to surrender his lead when he was penalized for speeding out of the pits.

That handed the advantage to Hamlin, who remained in command to cross the line ahead of Jeff Gordom and Kurt Busch.

Finishing order after 60 laps:

Pos  Driver           Team/Car
 1.  Denny Hamlin     Joe Gibbs Toyota
 2.  Jeff Gordon      Hendrick Chevrolet
 3.  Kurt Busch       Stewart-Haas Chevrolet
 4.  Paul Menard      Childress Chevrolet
 5.  Brian Scott      Childress Chevrolet
 6.  Trevor Bayne     Wood Brothers Ford
 7.  Kyle Larson      Ganassi Chevrolet
 8.  Martin Truex Jr  Furniture Row Chevrolet
 9.  Landon Cassill   Hillman Chevrolet
10.  Clint Bowyer     Waltrip Toyota
11.  Jamie McMurray   Ganassi Chevrolet
12.  Terry Labonte    Go FAS Ford
13.  Bobby Labonte    Hscott Chevrolet
14.  Casey Mears      Germain Chevrolet
15.  Carl Edwards     Roush Fenway Ford
16.  Jimmie Johnson   Hendrick Chevrolet
17.  David Ragan      Front Row Ford
18.  Michael Waltrip  Waltrip Toyota
19.  Ryan Truex       BK Toyota
20.  Justin Allgaier  Hscott Chevrolet
21.  Michael Annett   Baldwin Chevrolet
22.  Morgan Shepherd  Shepherd Toyota
23.  Eric McClure     Front Row Ford
24.  Brad Keselowski  Penske Ford
Daytona 500 grid:

Pos  Driver              Team/Car
 1.  Austin Dillon       Childress Chevrolet
 2.  Martin Truex Jr     Furniture Row Chevrolet
 3.  Matt Kenseth        Joe Gibbs Toyota
 4.  Denny Hamlin        Joe Gibbs Toyota
 5.  Kasey Kahne         Hendrick Chevrolet
 6.  Jeff Gordon         Hendrick Chevrolet
 7.  Marcos Ambrose      Petty Ford
 8.  Kurt Busch          Stewart-Haas Chevrolet
 9.  Dale Earnhardt Jr   Hendrick Chevrolet
10.  Paul Menard         Childress Chevrolet
11.  Josh Wise           Parsons Ford
12.  Brian Scott         Childress Chevrolet
13.  Aric Almirola       Petty Ford
14.  Trevor Bayne        Wood Brothers Ford
15.  AJ Allmendinger     JTG Daugherty Chevrolet
16.  Kyle Larson         Ganassi Chevrolet
17.  David Gilliland     Front Row Ford
18.  Landon Cassill      Hillman Chevrolet
19.  Ryan Newman         Childress Chevrolet
20.  Clint Bowyer        Waltrip Toyota
21.  Tony Stewart        Stewart-Haas Chevrolet
22.  Jamie McMurray      Ganassi Chevrolet
23.  Cole Whitt          Swan Toyota
24.  Terry Labonte       Go FAS Ford
25.  Greg Biffle         Roush Fenway Ford
26.  Bobby Labonte       Hscott Chevrolet
27.  Danica Patrick      Stewart-Haas Chevrolet
28.  Casey Mears         Germain Chevrolet
29.  Alex Bowman         BK Toyota
30.  Carl Edwards        Roush Fenway Ford
31.  Brian Vickers       Waltrip Toyota
32.  Jimmie Johnson      Hendrick Chevrolet
33.  Brad Keselowski     Penske Ford
34.  Ricky Stenhouse Jr  Roush Fenway Ford
35.  Joey Logano         Penske Ford
36.  Michael Annett      Baldwin Chevrolet
37.  Kyle Busch          Joe Gibbs Toyota
38.  Kevin Harvick       Childress Chevrolet
39.  Reed Sorenson       Baldwin Chevrolet
40.  Justin Allgaier     Hscott Chevrolet
41.  Parker Kligerman    Swan Toyota
42.  Michael Waltrip     Waltrip Toyota
43.  David Ragan         Front Row Ford

Originally on