MOTOGP: Marquez tops first test of 2014

MOTOGP: Marquez tops first test of 2014


MOTOGP: Marquez tops first test of 2014


Marquez starts fast ( photo)

Marc Marquez began his MotoGP title defense by topping the first day of 2014 pre-season testing at Sepang in Malaysia.

After initially swapping first place with Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi, Marquez moved his Honda 0.518 second with a 2m00.286s lap in the closing stages.

Rossi retained second, followed by Marquez’s team-mate Dani Pedrosa and the second Yamaha of Jorge Lorenzo. Satellite Honda riders Alvaro Bautista (Gresini) and Stefan Bradl (LCR) completed the top six.

Forward Racing made an impressive start to its new program with Yamaha-based Open class bikes. Former CRT benchmark Aleix Espargaro was seventh, while teammate Colin Edwards was 11th despite mechanical problems keeping him in the garage initially.

None of the factory Ducatis made it into the top 10, with race riders Andrea Dovizioso and Cal Crutchlow sandwiching tester Michele Pirro in 12th and 14th respectively. Crutchlow was another man to lose mileage to technical issues. But Pramac’s Andrea Iannone took eighth place on the Open Ducati, ahead of Tech 3 Yamaha duo Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith.

The only team not present was Ioda, which will begin its program with Open class Aprilias for Danilo Petrucci and Leon Camier at the second test later this month.

The presence of test riders from Honda, Ducati and Yamaha plus Randy de Puniet on the new Suzuki – which was 19th quickest – still meant a 26-bike field for the test.

Pos Rider               Bike                 Time       Gap     Laps
 1. Marc Marquez        Honda                2m00.286s           62
 2. Valentino Rossi     Yamaha               2m00.804s  +0.518s  61
 3. Dani Pedrosa        Honda                2m00.906s  +0.620s  75
 4. Jorge Lorenzo       Yamaha               2m01.082s  +0.796s  47
 5. Alvaro Bautista     Gresini Honda        2m01.240s  +0.954s  52
 6. Stefan Bradl        LCR Honda            2m01.320s  +1.034s  61
 7. Aleix Espargaro     Forward FTR-Yamaha   2m01.419s  +1.133s  26
 8. Andrea Iannone      Pramac Ducati        2m01.538s  +1.252s  44
 9. Pol Espargaro       Tech 3 Yamaha        2m01.634s  +1.348s  48
10. Bradley Smith       Tech 3 Yamaha        2m01.876s  +1.590s  55
11. Colin Edwards       Forward FTR-Yamaha   2m02.483s  +2.197s  26
12. Andrea Dovizioso    Ducati               2m02.497s  +2.211s  27
13. Michele Pirro       Ducati               2m02.552s  +2.266s  48
14. Cal Crutchlow       Ducati               2m02.860s  +2.574s  38
15. Yonny Hernandez     Pramac Ducati        2m02.891s  +2.605s  49
16. Katsuyuki Nakasuga  Yamaha               2m03.126s  +2.840s  35
17. Nicky Hayden        Aspar Honda          2m03.319s  +3.033s  56
18. Hiroshi Aoyama      Aspar Honda          2m03.328s  +3.042s  51
19. Randy de Puniet     Suzuki               2m03.893s  +3.607s  75
20. Kosuke Akiyoshi     Honda                2m04.267s  +3.981s  64
21. Scott Redding       Gresini Honda        2m04.431s  +4.145s  48
22. Hector Barbera      Avintia-FTR Kawasaki 2m04.922s  +4.636s  44
23. Mike di Meglio      Avintia-FTR Kawasaki 2m05.825s  +5.539s  51
24. Broc Parkes         PBM Aprilia          2m05.889s  +5.603s  40
25. Michael Laverty     PBM Aprilia          2m06.070s  +5.784s  14
26. Karel Abraham       Cardion Honda        2m06.755s  +6.469s  41


MX-5 Cup | Watkins Glen – Round 8