MotoGP announces 2014 entry list

MotoGP announces 2014 entry list


MotoGP announces 2014 entry list


MotoGP will retain a 24-bike field for the first year of its revised Factory/Open rules structure in 2014.

The division between prototype and CRT has been abandoned for next season, with Factory or Open status instead decided by whether a team uses its own ECU or the standard version.

Standard ECU equipped Open bikes get 24 liters of fuel per race compared to 20 for Factory teams, and can use 12 engines per season while the Factory bikes are limited to five. The aim is to close the performance spread of the field compared to the CRT era, without a parallel cost increase.

Eleven of 2014’s 24 full-season entries will have Factory status, with the remaining 13 all Open bikes.

Pramac and Gresini will both split their entries between the two classes, with Pramac’s Yonny Hernandez on an Open Ducati and Moto2 runner-up Scott Redding on an Open Honda with Gresini.

The announcement of the official entry list also finalised several rider lineups among the Open teams.

Former Pramac MotoGP rider Niccolo Canepa returns to the series as Danilo Petrucci’s teammate at Ioda after four years in Superbikes and Superstock, replacing Lukas Pesek.

Avintia gives 2008 125cc champion Mike di Meglio his MotoGP debut alongside Hector Barbera. The Frenchman took part in post-season testing at Valencia with the squad.

Paul Bird Motorsport will retain Michael Laverty for a second season, but has yet to announce his teammate.

Among the Factory teams, the main rider move of the winter is Cal Crutchlow leaving Tech 3 for Ducati.

Moto2 champion Pol Espargaro is promoted to Yamaha’s satellite squad in his place, while Nicky Hayden shifts to Aspar’s new Open Honda program after losing his Ducati seat to Crutchlow.

Provisional 2014 MotoGP entry list#    Rider             Team        Bike        Class4    Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati      Ducati      Factory5    Colin Edwards     Forward     FTR/Yamaha  Open6    Stefan Bradl      LCR         Honda       Factory7    Hiroshi Aoyama    Aspar       Honda       Open8    Hector Barbera    Avintia     FTR         Open9    Danilo Petrucci   Ioda        tba         Open17   Karel Abraham     Cardion AB  Honda       Open19   Alvaro Bautista   Gresini     Honda       Factory26   Dani Pedrosa      Honda       Honda       Factory29   Andrea Iannone    Pramac      Ducati      Factory35   Cal Crutchlow     Ducati      Ducati      Factory38   Bradley Smith     Tech 3      Yamaha      Factory41   Aleix Espargaro   Forward     FTR/Yamaha  Open44   Pol Espargaro     Tech 3      Yamaha      Factory45   Scott Redding     Gresini     Honda       Open46   Valentino Rossi   Yamaha      Yamaha      Factory59   Niccolo Canepa    Ioda        tba         Open63   Mike di Meglio    Avintia     FTR         Open68   Yonny Hernandez   Pramac      Ducati      Open69   Nicky Hayden      Aspar       Honda       Open70   Michael Laverty   Paul Bird   PBM/ART     Open93   Marc Marquez      Honda       Honda       Factory99   Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha      Yamaha      Factorytba  tba               Paul Bird   PBM/ART     Open