Marquez fastest again in Valencia practice two

Marquez fastest again in Valencia practice two


Marquez fastest again in Valencia practice two


MotoGP title hopeful Marc Marquez continued his strong start to this weekend’s Valencia showdown by going quickest in second practice.

Momentum swung several times between the rookie, his Honda teammate Dani Pedrosa, and his championship rival Jorge Lorenzo. Once again it was the Yamaha man who started the session fastest, only to be denied as Honda’s works duo dominated the second half.

Marquez kicked off the charge with 20 minutes remaining, was demoted by Pedrosa, and then reclaimed top spot five minutes from the finish with a 1m31.220s.

That left the 20-year-old, who needs to finish fourth or higher to guarantee himself this year’s crown, just over six hundredths of a second clear of Pedrosa. More importantly for his championship ambitions, it also put him 0.158sec ahead of Lorenzo.

The latter’s Yamaha teammate Valentino Rossi had been on the front-running pace in the early stages, but couldn’t match the improvements of the top three and finished the session four tenths of a second down the road. That allowed Tech 3’s Cal Crutchlow to steal ahead in the final minutes to secure fourth for Yamaha’s satellite squad. The Briton then fell on his final lap, although he was instantly on his feet after losing the rear of his bike at Turn 11, the slowest corner of the circuit.

LCR Honda’s Stefan Bradl beat fellow Honda satellite rider Alvaro Bautista to sixth, just 0.015sec to choose between the pair at the flag – with Bradley Smith, Andrea Dovizioso and Nicky Hayden rounding out the top 10.

Aleix Espargaro finished top of the CRT pile in 13th, but like Crutchlow suffered a fall – his coming five minutes from the end at Turn 12.

Pos Rider               Bike                      Time       Gap      Laps 1. Marc Marquez        Honda                     1m31.220s            20 2. Dani Pedrosa        Honda                     1m31.286s  +0.066s   22 3. Jorge Lorenzo       Yamaha                    1m31.378s  +0.158s   19 4. Cal Crutchlow       Tech 3 Yamaha             1m31.502s  +0.282s   22 5. Valentino Rossi     Yamaha                    1m31.639s  +0.419s   24 6. Stefan Bradl        LCR Honda                 1m31.858s  +0.638s   22 7. Alvaro Bautista     Gresini Honda             1m31.873s  +0.653s   22 8. Bradley Smith       Tech 3 Yamaha             1m31.984s  +0.764s   23 9. Andrea Dovizioso    Ducati                    1m32.363s  +1.143s   2110. Nicky Hayden        Ducati                    1m32.395s  +1.175s   2111. Andrea Iannone      Pramac Ducati             1m32.596s  +1.376s   2212. Michele Pirro       Pramac Ducati             1m32.756s  +1.536s   2013. Aleix Espargaro     Aspar Aprilia             1m32.809s  +1.589s   1114. Claudio Corti       Forward FTR-Kawasaki      1m33.172s  +1.952s   1915. Colin Edwards       Forward FTR-Kawasaki      1m33.252s  +2.032s   2216. Hector Barbera      Avintia FTR-Kawasaki      1m33.270s  +2.050s   2017. Danilo Petrucci     Ioda-Suter-BMW            1m33.304s  +2.084s   2118. Yonny Hernandez     Pramac Ducati             1m33.487s  +2.267s   2119. Randy de Puniet     Aspar Aprilia             1m33.727s  +2.507s   2020. Luca Scassa         Cardion Aprilia           1m34.049s  +2.829s   1921. Hiroshi Aoyama      Avintia FTR-Kawasaki      1m34.077s  +2.857s   1422. Michael Laverty     PBM Aprilia               1m34.132s  +2.912s   2123. Bryan Staring       Gresini FTR-Honda         1m35.478s  +4.258s   2124. Damian Cudlin       PBM-Aprilia               1m35.644s  +4.424s   1625. Martin Bauer        Remus-Suter-BMW           1m35.832s  +4.612s   1926. Lukas Pesek         Ioda-Suter-BMW            1m36.353s  +5.133s   15