FIA announces fan-voting award

FIA announces fan-voting award

Formula 1

FIA announces fan-voting award


Motorsport fans will be able to vote for a newly created moment of the year award, which will be featured in the FIA’s end-of-season awards in Paris.

Fans of the FIA’s Facebook page will vote for one of a choice of 12 moments, with the winner celebrated on screen during the awards on Dec. 6.

The shortlist of moments will be selected by a jury, which includes president of the FIA drivers’ commission, Emerson Fittipaldi, along with Academy president Rosario Alessi and president of the founding members club, Claude Miffon.

The moment of the year award is open to all of the FIA’s championships, including Formula 1, the World Rally Championship and the World Endurance Championship.

A second new award for the FIA personality of the year has also been created, to be voted for by permanently accredited media covering its championships.

“It’s been a fantastic year of motorsport,” said Fittipaldi. “I hope all fans and media will get involved and cast their vote.”