Vettel stays ahead in Indian GP practice

Vettel stays ahead in Indian GP practice

Formula 1

Vettel stays ahead in Indian GP practice


Red Bull claimed another 1-2 in second Indian Grand Prix practice, as Sebastian Vettel again led Mark Webber.

As had been the case in the morning, Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg offered a plucky challenge to the Red Bulls. On the medium-compound tire, Rosberg emerged with the honors, beating Webber by just 0.001 second.

Times were over a second faster on softs, and Vettel’s early 1m25.722s secured the top spot with an hour to spare, as teams then switched to long-stint tire work.

Webber repeated the practice one Red Bull symmetry by grabbing second, 0.289s slower than his teammate, who is poised to secure a fourth consecutive Formula 1 title this weekend.

Rosberg was only sixth on soft tires, behind Romain Grosjean’s Lotus, the second Mercedes of Lewis Hamilton and Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso.

Following morning gearbox issues, Alonso made up for lost time with 37 laps of running. His teammate Felipe Massa was seventh. Kimi Raikkonen got into the top 10 this time in eighth, but was half a second down on teammate Grosjean. The McLarens completed the top 10 spots.

Pastor Maldonado provided the most notable incident when his Williams shed a wheelnut on track. He managed to coax the loose-wheeled car back as far as the pitlane entry before having to park.

Paul di Resta was back in action for Force India after his earlier illness and took 15th place, 0.2sec and three spots behind his teammate Adrian Sutil.

Pos Driver                Team                    Time        Gap    Laps 1. Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault        1m25.722s           35 2. Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault        1m26.011s  +0.289s  38 3. Romain Grosjean       Lotus-Renault           1m26.220s  +0.498s  36 4. Lewis Hamilton        Mercedes                1m26.399s  +0.677s  36 5. Fernando Alonso       Ferrari                 1m26.430s  +0.708s  39 6. Nico Rosberg          Mercedes                1m26.582s  +0.860s  40 7. Felipe Massa          Ferrari                 1m26.601s  +0.879s  41 8. Kimi Raikkonen        Lotus-Renault           1m26.632s  +0.910s  32 9. Sergio Perez          McLaren-Mercedes        1m26.857s  +1.135s  4010. Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes        1m26.972s  +1.250s  3911. Daniel Ricciardo      Toro Rosso-Ferrari      1m27.304s  +1.582s  1712. Adrian Sutil          Force India-Mercedes    1m27.375s  +1.653s  3613. Valtteri Bottas       Williams-Renault        1m27.429s  +1.707s  3114. Nico Hulkenberg       Sauber-Ferrari          1m27.491s  +1.769s  4015. Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercedes    1m27.608s  +1.886s  3816. Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Renault        1m27.720s  +1.998s  2317. Esteban Gutierrez     Sauber-Ferrari          1m27.949s  +2.227s  3418. Jean-Eric Vergne      Toro Rosso-Ferrari      1m28.431s  +2.709s  3019. Giedo van der Garde   Caterham-Renault        1m28.692s  +2.970s  3920. Jules Bianchi         Marussia-Cosworth       1m28.799s  +3.077s  3221. Charles Pic           Caterham-Renault        1m29.366s  +3.644s  3722. Max Chilton           Marussia-Cosworth       1m30.164s  +4.442s  27

MX-5 Cup | Round 10 – Road America