Rowland, King join FR3.5 test

Rowland, King join FR3.5 test

Formula 3.5 V8

Rowland, King join FR3.5 test


Oliver Rowland and British Formula 3 champion Jordan King are among the drivers who will evaluate Formula Renault 3.5 moves in this week’s post-season test at Barcelona.

Rowland, the 2011 McLaren AUTOSPORT BRDC Award winner will spend both Tuesday and Wednesday testing for Fortec, which took Robin Frijns to last year’s FR3.5 crown.

British 21-year-old Rowland has spent the past two seasons in the Formula Renault Eurocup, finishing in the top three in the championship each time.

Pierre Gasly, who beat him to the Eurocup title last weekend, will also join the test for two days of running with Tech 1.

King will run with his F3 squad Carlin, which will also field another of its F3 line-up in the shape of Jann Mardenborough on day one, before the Nissan GT Academy graduate has a try-out with Arden Caterham on Wednesday.

Formula 1 aspirant Antonio Felix da Costa remains in FR3.5 to test with Carlin on day two, alongside Alexander Sims. European Formula 3 champion Raffaele Marciello will also drive for DAMS and Tech 1 during the test.

After his partial FR3.5 season this year, Carlos Sainz Jr. is due to test for Pons and DAMS.

GP2 front-runner Stefano Coletti is a surprise addition, running with the SMP/Comtec squad on both days.

Team            Day 1               Day 2Tech 1          Pierre Gasly        Pierre Gasly                William Vermont     Raffaele MarcielloArden Caterham  William Buller      Jann Mardenborough                Nico Muller         Zoel AmbergFortec          Oliver Rowland      Oliver Rowland                Riccardo Agostini   Nikolay MartsenkoISR             Sergey Sirotkin     Sergey Sirotkin                Daniil Move         TBALotus           Matthieu Vaxiviere  Matthieu Vaxiviere                Oscar Tunjo         Marlon StockingerCarlin          Jann Mardenborough  Antonio Felix da Costa                Jordan King         Alexander SimsSMP by Comtec   Stefano Coletti     Stefano Coletti                Nick Yelloly        Nick YellolyDraco           Lucas Foresti       Andre Negrao                Pietro Fantin       Pietro FantinDAMS            Raffaele Marciello  Will Buller                Marlon Stockinger   Carlos Sainz JrStrakka         Will Stevens        Will Stevens                Matias Laine        Matias LaineZeta Corse      Roman Mavlanov      Roman Mavlanov                Nikolay Martsenko   Riccardo AgostiniPons            Carlos Sainz Jr     Chewon Im                Luca Ghiotto        Luca GhiottoAV              Vittorio Ghirelli   Lucas Foresti                Alice Powell        TBA

MX-5 Cup | Watkins Glen – Round 8