IndyCar title rivals get grid penalties

IndyCar title rivals get grid penalties


IndyCar title rivals get grid penalties


IndyCar title rivals Scott Dixon and Helio Castroneves will both take 10-place grid penalties for engine changes in this weekend’s Fontana decider.

With the 500-mile superspeedway race placing tough demands on engines and recovering ground in the race likely to be straightforward given the ease of overtaking, tactical engine changes had been widely anticipated.

Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver Dixon leads Penske opponent Castroneves by 25 points going into the event.

IndyCar rules stipulate that engines must go 2000 miles between changes and that only five fresh engines per entry are permitted each year.

In addition to Dixon and Castroneves, Dragon driver Sebastian Saavedra, Rahal Letterman Lanigan’s Graham Rahal, Foyt racer Takuma Sato and Sarah Fisher Hartman’s Josef Newgarden are also taking new engines and grid penalties for Fontana.

MX-5 Cup | Watkins Glen – Round 8