Japanese GP: final grid lineup

Japanese GP: final grid lineup

Formula 1

Japanese GP: final grid lineup


Penalties for Adrian Sutil, Jules Bianchi and Charles Pic alter the starting grid for the Japanese Grand Prix.

Sutil had qualified 17th, but was handed a five-place penalty for a gearbox change on Saturday prior to qualifying.

Bianchi and Pic meanwhile both came into the weekend carrying 10-place penalties after receiving their third reprimands of the season for failing to respond to yellow flags during last weekend’s Korean Grand Prix.

Due to the order the penalties were applied, Sutil will start from the back of the grid for Sunday’s race at Suzuka.

Bianchi will join him on the final row, while Pic effectively surrenders position to Caterham teammate Giedo van der Garde but stays 20th.

Jean-Eric Vergne and Max Chilton both gain one spot, while van der Garde moves up two, to 19th.

Webber’s pole is the first of his farewell 2013 campaign, and also the first time he has outqualified Sebastian Vettel this year.

Pos Driver               Team               1. Mark Webber          Red Bull-Renault       2. Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull-Renault       3. Lewis Hamilton       Mercedes               4. Romain Grosjean      Lotus-Renault          5. Felipe Massa         Ferrari                6. Nico Rosberg         Mercedes               7. Nico Hulkenberg      Sauber-Ferrari         8. Fernando Alonso      Ferrari                9. Kimi Raikkonen       Lotus-Renault         10. Jenson Button        McLaren-Mercedes      11. Sergio Perez         McLaren-Mercedes      12. Paul di Resta        Force India-Mercedes  13. Valtteri Bottas      Williams-Renault      14. Esteban Gutierrez    Sauber-Ferrari        15. Pastor Maldonado     Williams-Renault      16. Daniel Ricciardo     Toro Rosso-Ferrari    17. Jean-Eric Vergne     Toro Rosso-Ferrari    18. Max Chilton          Marussia-Cosworth     19. Giedo van der Garde  Caterham-Renault      20. Charles Pic          Caterham-Renault      21. Jules Bianchi        Marussia-Cosworth     22. Adrian Sutil         Force India-Mercedes