Franchitti ruled out of Fontana race

Franchitti ruled out of Fontana race

IndyCar

Franchitti ruled out of Fontana race

By

Dario Franchitti will miss next weekend’s IndyCar season finale at Fontana as the result of injuries he sustained in a last-lap crash in Houston on Sunday.

Chip Ganassi Racing is yet to make an announcement regarding the Scot’s prognosis, however well-placed sources have confirmed that he will be unable to participate in next Saturday’s race.

Franchitti suffered a concussion, two fractured vertebra, and a fracture to his right ankle when his car flew into the Turn 5 catch-fencing after making contact with the rear of Takuma Sato’s Dallara-Honda. He underwent surgery to stabilize his ankle on Sunday night. Franchitti will reportedly undergo further surgery when he is transferred from the Houston hospital where he is currently recovering to a facility in Indianapolis in the coming days.

The four-time series champion and three-time Indianapolis 500 winner is expected to make a full recovery.

More RACER