Korean GP: Final grid lineup

Korean GP: Final grid lineup

Formula 1

Korean GP: Final grid lineup


Mark Webber and Jules Bianchi’s penalties both alter the starting grid for the Korean Grand Prix.

Webber knew two weeks ago that he would face a 10-place drop for the Yeongam race as his controversial reprimand for the Singapore ‘taxi lift’ from Fernando Alonso was his third “driving offense of the season, triggering an automatic penalty. He compromised his Red Bull’s setup to give him a better shot at overtaking on race day and was third in qualifying behind Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton.

That becomes 13th on the grid, elevating Romain Grosjean and Nico Rosberg into third and fourth and meaning McLaren gets a car that of Sergio Perez in the top 10 after all.

Vettel beats Hamilton to Korea pole
Hamilton still hopeful of beating Vettel
Raikkonen admits he made a mistake
Alonso not expecting race-day surge

Bianchi’s three-place penalty, plus a reprimand, was incurred for blocking Paul di Resta. But as Bianchi only qualified 21st, the effect is just that he swaps back row places with Marussia team-mate Max Chilton.

Vettel’s pole is his sixth of the year, meaning he now moves ahead of Hamilton to hold the highest number of poles in 2013.

                                            Pos Driver               Team               1. Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull-Renault       2. Lewis Hamilton       Mercedes               3. Romain Grosjean      Lotus-Renault          4. Nico Rosberg         Mercedes               5. Fernando Alonso      Ferrari                6. Felipe Massa         Ferrari                7. Nico Hulkenberg      Sauber-Ferrari         8. Esteban Gutierrez    Sauber-Ferrari         9. Kimi Raikkonen       Lotus-Renault         10. Sergio Perez         McLaren-Mercedes      11. Jenson Button        McLaren-Mercedes      12. Daniel Ricciardo     Toro Rosso-Ferrari    13. Mark Webber          Red Bull-Renault      14. Adrian Sutil         Force India-Mercedes  15. Paul di Resta        Force India-Mercedes  16. Jean-Eric Vergne     Toro Rosso-Ferrari    17. Valtteri Bottas      Williams-Renault      18. Pastor Maldonado     Williams-Renault      19. Charles Pic          Caterham-Renault      20. Giedo van der Garde  Caterham-Renault      21. Max Chilton          Marussia-Cosworth     22. Jules Bianchi        Marussia-Cosworth