Marquez beats Lorenzo at Aragon

Marquez beats Lorenzo at Aragon


Marquez beats Lorenzo at Aragon


Marc Marquez re-established his command of MotoGP by defeating Jorge Lorenzo in the Aragon Grand Prix, as Dani Pedrosa crashed out.

Pedrosa’s lap-six incident looks set to end his 2013 championship hopes, and came amid a battle with Honda teammate Marquez.

Lorenzo’s Yamaha had again burst into the lead at the start, but this time the Hondas soon reeled him back in. As they did so, Pedrosa overtook Marquez. Unique among the top three in running a harder front tire, Pedrosa looked like he might have a race pace advantage.

A few laps later, Marquez surged back down the outside of Pedrosa to try to reclaim second, but ran wide over the run-off area. At the same moment, Pedrosa launched into a violent high-side on the exit of the corner and crashed into retirement. He was checked for a potential left knee injury but escaped without serious injuury.

Marquez was now two seconds behind Lorenzo, a gap he chipped away at until slipping into the lead with six laps remaining. Lorenzo tried to fight back and closed in again, only for a final spurt from Marquez to give him victory by 1.3 seconds.

Valentino Rossi returned to the podium in third on the second Yamaha. He had to fight hard to get there, only claiming the place after a huge, race-long dice that also involved Alvaro Bautista, Stefan Bradl and Cal Crutchlow.

Bradley Smith, Ducati pair Andrea Dovizioso and Nicky Hayden, and Andrea Iannone completed the top 10, with Aleix Espargaro a class apart in CRT again in 11th.

Results - 23 laps:Pos  Rider             Team/Bike               Time/Gap 1.  Marc Marquez      Honda                 42m03.459s 2.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                   +1.356s 3.  Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                  +12.927s 4.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda           +13.787s 5.  Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda               +13.973s 6.  Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha           +14.662s 7.  Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha           +31.220s 8.  Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                  +40.671s 9.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati                  +53.413s10.  Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati           +55.067s11.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia           +58.001s12.  Yonny Hernandez   Pramac Ducati         +1m05.513s13.  Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia         +1m06.589s14.  Hiroshi Aoyama    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  +1m08.674s15.  Claudio Corti     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  +1m09.130s16.  Colin Edwards     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  +1m12.041s17.  Luca Scassa       Cardion Aprilia       +1m45.152s18.  Bryan Staring     Gresini FTR-Honda     +1m45.228s19.  Lukas Pesek       Ioda-Suter-BMW        +1m45.583sRetirements:     Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki      8 laps     Dani Pedrosa      Honda                     5 laps     Damian Cudlin     PBM-Aprilia               3 laps     Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Suter-BMW            0 laps     Michael Laverty   PBM Aprilia               0 laps