Formula E to race in Monte Carlo

Formula E to race in Monte Carlo

Formula E

Formula E to race in Monte Carlo


Formula E’s inaugural season will race in classic Formula 1 venue Monte Carlo, with London hosting the finale.

A 10-round 2014-’15 calendar for the FIA’s new electric racing series was approved at the World Motor Sport Council meeting in Croatia on Friday. FE will commence in Beijing on Sept. 20 next year, the Chinese venue starting a string of three Asian events with Putrajaya in Malaysia and then Hong Kong.

After races in Punta del Este in Uruguay and Buenos Aires in Argentina, America has events in Los Angeles and Miami. The series then switches to Europe for its final swing, with a Monaco date in the same month as the Principality’s grand prix on May 9 2015, then races in Berlin and London. A planned date in Rome did not made the final cut.

Series chief Alejandro Agag said there had been huge competition for FE dates.

“Since launching the championship last year we have received formal offers from more than 25 cities all over the world making choosing just 10 very difficult indeed,” he said. “Today’s provisional calendar sees us race in the heart of some of the most well-known cities in the world providing a fantastic backdrop and showcasing electric vehicles in their favored urban environments.

“We will now focus on finalising the design of each of the circuits as well as working closely with all our partners to ensure we deliver each of these events in the most sustainable way possible.”

Formula E calendar:

20 September 2014    Beijing, China*18 October 2014      Putrajaya, Malaysia8 November 2014      Hong Kong13 December 2014     Punta del Este, Uruguay10 January 2015      Buenos Aires, Argentina14 February 2015     Los Angeles, USA18 April 2015        Miami, USA9 May 2015           Monte Carlo, Monaco*30 May 2015          Berlin, Germany27 June 2015         London, UKAll events remain subject to FIA Track Homologation* Subject to ASN approval