Earnhardt secures Dover pole

Earnhardt secures Dover pole

Cup Series

Earnhardt secures Dover pole


Dale Earnhardt Jr. held off NASCAR Sprint Cup points leader Matt Kenseth to claim pole for Sunday’s Chase race at Dover.

Hendrick driver Earnhardt’s 22.243-second, 161.849mph lap was the latest in the string of new track records set by the Gen-6 cars this year. Kenseth, who has won the first two Chase events, was 0.006sec shy of beat Earnhardt in his Joe Gibbs Toyota.

Even by NASCAR short-track standards, the field was incredibly close, with the top 10 cars all within 0.089sec. Ryan Newman was third for Stewart-Haas, joined on row two by Carl Edwards in the best of the Fords for Roush Fenway.

Aric Almirola and Brad Keselowski both had spells on provisional pole but ended up sharing row three, followed by Jamie McMurray, Jimmie Johnson, Kurt Busch and Martin Truex Jr.

The race takes place on Sunday afternoon.

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                     Time     Gap 1.  Dale Earnhardt Jr   Hendrick Chevrolet           22.243s 2.  Matt Kenseth        Joe Gibbs Toyota             22.249s  +0.006s 3.  Ryan Newman         Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       22.258s  +0.015s 4.  Carl Edwards        Roush Fenway Ford            22.276s  +0.033s 5.  Aric Almirola       Petty Ford                   22.276s  +0.033s 6.  Brad Keselowski     Penske Ford                  22.278s  +0.035s 7.  Jamie McMurray      Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet  22.292s  +0.049s 8.  Jimmie Johnson      Hendrick Chevrolet           22.313s  +0.070s 9.  Kurt Busch          Furniture Row Chevrolet      22.315s  +0.072s10.  Martin Truex Jr     Waltrip Toyota               22.332s  +0.089s11.  Joey Logano         Penske Ford                  22.357s  +0.114s12.  Kevin Harvick       Childress Chevrolet          22.388s  +0.145s13.  Juan Pablo Montoya  Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet  22.397s  +0.154s14.  Kyle Busch          Joe Gibbs Toyota             22.399s  +0.156s15.  Ricky Stenhouse Jr  Roush Fenway Ford            22.400s  +0.157s16.  Jeff Gordon         Hendrick Chevrolet           22.407s  +0.164s17.  AJ Allmendinger     JTG Daugherty Toyota         22.409s  +0.166s18.  Denny Hamlin        Joe Gibbs Toyota             22.422s  +0.179s19.  Greg Biffle         Roush Fenway Ford            22.424s  +0.181s20.  Kasey Kahne         Hendrick Chevrolet           22.448s  +0.205s21.  Paul Menard         Childress Chevrolet          22.465s  +0.222s22.  Brian Vickers       Waltrip Toyota               22.486s  +0.243s23.  Clint Bowyer        Waltrip Toyota               22.521s  +0.278s24.  Marcos Ambrose      Petty Ford                   22.550s  +0.307s25.  Jeff Burton         Childress Chevrolet          22.673s  +0.430s26.  Casey Mears         Germain Ford                 22.697s  +0.454s27.  David Ragan         Front Row Ford               22.720s  +0.477s28.  David Gilliland     Front Row Ford               22.747s  +0.504s29.  Mark Martin         Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       22.786s  +0.543s30.  Travis Kvapil       BK Toyota                    22.795s  +0.552s31.  Danica Patrick      Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       22.848s  +0.605s32.  JJ Yeley            Baldwin Chevrolet            22.850s  +0.607s33.  Cole Whitt          Swan Toyota                  22.881s  +0.638s34.  Michael McDowell    Parsons Ford                 22.947s  +0.704s35.  Reed Sorenson       Leavine Ford                 22.975s  +0.732s36.  Ryan Truex          Phoenix Chevrolet            22.982s  +0.739s37.  Landon Cassill      Circle Sport Chevrolet       23.004s  +0.761s38.  Josh Wise           Front Row Ford               23.047s  +0.804s39.  David Reutimann     BK Toyota                    23.137s  +0.894s40.  Dave Blaney         Baldwin Chevrolet            23.151s  +0.908s41.  Joe Nemecheck       NEMCO Toyota                 23.251s  +1.008s42.  Timmy Hill          FAS Lane Ford                23.297s  +1.054s43.  Tony Raines         Hillman Chevrolet            23.445s  +1.202s