Kenseth remains unbeaten in Chase with New Hampshire win

Kenseth remains unbeaten in Chase with New Hampshire win

Cup Series

Kenseth remains unbeaten in Chase with New Hampshire win


Matt Kenseth kept up his NASCAR Sprint Cup Chase record perfect by taking an assured win at New Hampshire, his seventh of the season.

For the second week in a row Kenseth led home his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch in a Toyota Camry 1-2. It was an extra special result for Kenseth as the race was his 500th Cup start.

“For me to win at New Hampshire, first of all, is more than a stretch and more than a dream,” Kenseth said. “This is probably one of my worst places. That just shows you how good this whole team is. … I didn’t even know there was a Victory Lane here.

“I felt really confident with my car today, but to have a fast car and to be able to do all the right things with adjustments and strategy and pit stops and all that stuff and be out front and win is two different things. So I’m thankful to be part of this group, and it honestly doesn’t really seem real that we won yet today.” 

Greg Biffle’s Roush Fenway team did a great job in the pits to get the Ford Fusion into the top six, but it was a stunning double pass on Jimmie Johnson and Dale Earnhardt Jr. that earned Biffle third place.

Johnson was a top-six runner all day, and fourth place keeps his quest for a sixth title ticking along nicely.

It was a great day for Jamie McMurray, who was tipped into a spin by Earnhardt Ganassi teammate Juan Pablo Montoya before being collected by newcomer Kevin Swindell. But despite a stoved-in rear end, McMurray took fifth place, passing Earnhardt in the late stages.

It was also a good recovery for Earnhardt, who lost crucial track position with a pit stop problem. His team put him off-sequence and it worked, he led a lap and took sixth.

In a race of few retirements, it was a bad race for any of the Chasers to hit trouble.

After taking the lead from pole man Ryan Newman on lap three, Kasey Kahne looked set for a strong run. But when he lost the rear end on a late race restart and slammed into the infield wall he was condemned to a miserable 37th-place finish, which has hit his title hopes hard.

Other Chasers to struggle were Kevin Harvick, who battled an overheating motor in his Richard Childress Racing Chevy and finished 20th, and Clint Bowyer, who fell foul of a poorly timed caution, which put him at the tail of the pack at a track where overtaking is about as hard as it gets on an oval.

Results - 300 laps:Pos  Driver              Team/Car                         Time/Gap 1.  Matt Kenseth        Joe Gibbs Toyota             2h57m02.000s 2.  Kyle Busch          Joe Gibbs Toyota                  +0.533s 3.  Greg Biffle         Roush Fenway Ford                 +1.850s 4.  Jimmie Johnson      Hendrick Chevrolet                +2.532s 5.  Jamie McMurray      Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet       +6.594s 6.  Dale Earnhardt Jr   Hendrick Chevrolet                +7.819s 7.  Brian Vickers       Waltrip Toyota                    +8.408s 8.  Jeff Burton         Childress Chevrolet               +8.929s 9.  Carl Edwards        Roush Fenway Ford                 +9.714s10.  Martin Truex Jr     Waltrip Toyota                   +10.637s11.  Brad Keselowski     Penske Ford                      +10.823s12.  Denny Hamlin        Joe Gibbs Toyota                 +12.346s13.  Kurt Busch          Furniture Row Chevrolet          +13.440s14.  Joey Logano         Penske Ford                      +14.271s15.  Jeff Gordon         Hendrick Chevrolet               +15.029s16.  Ryan Newman         Stewart-Haas Chevrolet           +16.125s17.  Clint Bowyer        Waltrip Toyota                   +17.350s18.  Marcos Ambrose      Petty Ford                       +19.488s19.  Juan Pablo Montoya  Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet      +20.014s20.  Kevin Harvick       Childress Chevrolet              +20.191s21.  Aric Almirola       Petty Ford                       +21.370s22.  Paul Menard         Childress Chevrolet              +21.663s23.  Mark Martin         Stewart-Haas Chevrolet           +23.272s24.  Ricky Stenhouse Jr  Roush Fenway Ford                +23.559s25.  Casey Mears         Germain Ford                     +24.405s26.  David Reutimann     BK Toyota                        +26.001s27.  Danica Patrick      Stewart-Haas Chevrolet           +26.763s28.  Travis Kvapil       BK Toyota                        +27.784s29.  David Ragan         Front Row Ford                     +1 lap30.  Michael McDowell    Phoenix Chevrolet                 +2 laps31.  Dave Blaney         Baldwin Chevrolet                 +2 laps32.  Josh Wise           Front Row Ford                    +3 laps33.  JJ Yeley            Baldwin Chevrolet                 +4 laps34.  Landon Cassill      Hillman Chevrolet                 +4 laps35.  Joe Nemechek        NEMCO Toyota                      +4 laps36.  Timmy Hill          FAS Lane Ford                     +7 laps37.  Kasey Kahne         Hendrick Chevrolet               +22 laps38.  Kevin Swindell      Swan Toyota                      +56 lapsRetirements:     David Gilliland     Front Row Ford                   239 laps     Bobby Labonte       JTG Daugherty Toyota             161 laps     Tony Raines         Circle Sport Chevrolet           128 laps     Johnny Sauter       Parsons Ford                     103 laps     Scott Riggs         Leavine Ford                      92 laps

MX-5 Cup | Round 9 – Road America | Livestream

IndyCar App