Logano beats Keselowski to pole

Logano beats Keselowski to pole

Cup Series

Logano beats Keselowski to pole


Joey Logano and Brad Keselowski gave Penske a front-row sweep for Sunday’s Chicagoland NASCAR Sprint Cup race.

Just hours after being in the thick of the latest fallout from last weekend’s controversial Richmond event, Logano got back to business on track with a qualifying lap 0.025 second faster than his outgoing champion teammate.

Juan Pablo Montoya came closest to spoiling Penske’s day right at the end of qualifying, but had to settle for third in his Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet.

Kasey Kahne was second-best among the Chase contenders in fourth, followed by early provisional polesitter Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Kahne’s Hendrick teammate Jeff Gordon is now also in the Chase following Friday’s shock twists in the Richmond saga, and he will start sixth. Chase participants Greg Biffle, Carl Edwards, Jimmie Johnson and Matt Kenseth complete the top 10.

Clint Bowyer was slowest of the title contenders in 24th.

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                     Time     Gap 1.  Joey Logano         Penske Ford                  28.509s 2.  Brad Keselowski     Penske Ford                  28.534s  +0.025s 3.  Juan Pablo Montoya  Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet  28.562s  +0.053s 4.  Kasey Kahne         Hendrick Chevrolet           28.604s  +0.095s 5.  Ricky Stenhouse Jr  Roush Fenway Ford            28.606s  +0.097s 6.  Jeff Gordon         Hendrick Chevrolet           28.641s  +0.132s 7.  Greg Biffle         Roush Fenway Ford            28.645s  +0.136s 8.  Carl Edwards        Roush Fenway Ford            28.669s  +0.160s 9.  Jimmie Johnson      Hendrick Chevrolet           28.677s  +0.168s10.  Matt Kenseth        Roush Fenway Ford            28.678s  +0.169s11.  Paul Menard         Childress Chevrolet          28.678s  +0.169s12.  Kyle Busch          Joe Gibbs Toyota             28.679s  +0.170s13.  AJ Allmendinger     JTG Daugherty Toyota         28.681s  +0.172s14.  Martin Truex Jr     Waltrip Toyota               28.684s  +0.175s15.  Aric Almirola       Petty Ford                   28.704s  +0.195s16.  Kurt Busch          Furniture Row Chevrolet      28.712s  +0.203s17.  Kevin Harvick       Childress Chevrolet          28.730s  +0.221s18.  Dale Earnhardt Jr   Hendrick Chevrolet           28.742s  +0.233s19.  David Ragan         Front Row Ford               28.798s  +0.289s20.  Ryan Newman         Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       28.845s  +0.336s21.  Jeff Burton         Childress Chevrolet          28.892s  +0.383s22.  Denny Hamlin        Joe Gibbs Toyota             28.906s  +0.397s23.  Danica Patrick      Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       28.912s  +0.403s24.  Clint Bowyer        Waltrip Toyota               28.915s  +0.406s25.  Brian Vickers       Waltrip Toyota               28.963s  +0.454s26.  Marcos Ambrose      Petty Ford                   29.019s  +0.510s27.  Jamie McMurray      Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet  29.051s  +0.542s28.  Cole Whitt          Swan Toyota                  29.067s  +0.558s29.  Mark Martin         Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       29.069s  +0.560s30.  JJ Yeley            Baldwin Chevrolet            29.124s  +0.615s31.  Casey Mears         Germain Ford                 29.277s  +0.768s32.  Landon Cassill      Hillman Chevrolet            29.283s  +0.774s33.  David Reutimann     BK Toyota                    29.288s  +0.779s34.  Josh Wise           Front Row Ford               29.293s  +0.784s35.  David Gilliland     Front Row Ford               29.331s  +0.822s36.  Justin Allgaier     Phoenix Chevrolet            29.335s  +0.826s37.  Travis Kvapil       BK Toyota                    29.380s  +0.871s38.  Michael McDowell    Parsons Ford                 29.455s  +0.946s39.  Timmy Hill          FAS Lane Ford                29.458s  +0.949s40.  Reed Sorenson       Leavine Ford                 29.657s  +1.148s41.  Dave Blaney         Baldwin Chevrolet            29.682s  +1.173s42.  Joe Nemechek        NEMCO Toyota                 29.875s  +1.366s43.  Tony Raines         Circle Sport Chevrolet       30.213s  +1.704s