Fassler and Treluyer put Audi on Brazil WEC pole

Fassler and Treluyer put Audi on Brazil WEC pole


Fassler and Treluyer put Audi on Brazil WEC pole


Marcel Fassler and Benoit Treluyer claimed pole position for Audi ahead of Sunday’s fourth round of the World Endurance Championship at Interlagos.

Fassler and Treluyer, who share their Audi R18 e-tron quattro with Andre Lotterer, ended up with a four-lap average of 1m21.303s, which was just five hundredths of a second ahead of the sister Audi.

Fassler initially set the pace ahead of teammate Loic Duval with a pair of laps under the 1m21s mark, before Tom Kristensen outperformed Treluyer over his first two laps to move ahead on the averages.

Kristensen spun at the Senna S on his third lap as he tried to improve, something Treluyer was able to achieve to snatch back the pole for the No. 1 car.

Treluyer said: “I was not confident with the car initially: I had quite a bit of traffic and big understeer. It was a little bit stressful, but I did another lap and managed to improve.”

Sebastien Buemi and Anthony Davidson were third for Toyota with an average only two tenths behind the pole-winning car.


LMP2 honors went to the G-Drive/Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan 03 shared by Mike Conway and John Martin with an average half a second up on the second-placed Pecom/AF Corse ORECA shared by Nicolas Minassian and Pierre Kaffer.

Sports car rookie Richie Stanaway set the fastest GTE Pro time of the weekend to take the class pole for Aston Martin in the Vantage GTE he shared in qualifying with Pedro Lamy.

Their 1m33.340s second average put them a tenth up on the factory Porsche 911 RSR shared by Marc Lieb and Richard Lietz.

GTE Am pole went to AF Corse Ferrari duo Marco Cioci and Matt Griffin. The car was second in the times after it had completed its four laps, before Griffin pushed again after a cooling down lap. His next lap put him equal on the averages with the Aston Martin driven by Nicki Thiim and Kristian Poulsen and the final lap put the car on pole.

Watch live here:


Pos  Cl     Drivers                         Team/Car                Time       Cl. Gap 1.  P1     Lotterer/Treluyer/Fassler       Audi                    1m21.303s 2.  P1     Kristensen/Duval/McNish         Audi                    1m21.353s  +0.050s 3.  P1     Davidson/Buemi/Sarrazin         Toyota                  1m21.580s  +0.277s 4.  P1     Prost/Heidfeld/Beche            Rebellion Lola-Toyota   1m23.623s  +2.320s 5.  P2     Rusinov/Martin/Conway           Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan  1m27.355s 6.  P2     Perez Companc/Minassian/Kaffer  Pecom ORECA-Nissan      1m27.830s  +0.475s 7.  P2     Baguette/Gonzalez/Plowman       OAK Morgan-Nissan       1m28.300s  +0.945s 8.  P2     Zugel/Jeannette/Wirdheim        Greaves Zytek-Nissan    1m28.318s  +0.963s 9.  P2     Holzer/Kraihamer/Charouz        Lotus                   1m28.556s  +1.201s10.  P2     Pla/Heinemeier Hansson/Brundle  OAK Morgan-Nissan       1m28.577s  +1.222s11.  P2     Weeda/Bouchut                   Lotus                   1m30.169s  +2.814s12.  P2     Nicolet/Merlin/Ihara            OAK Morgan-Nissan       1m30.877s  +3.522s13.  GTE P  Dalla Lana/Lamy/Stanaway        Aston Martin            1m33.340s14.  GTE P  Lieb/Lietz                      Manthey Porsche         1m33.461s  +0.121s15.  GTE P  Mucke/Turner                    Aston Martin            1m33.483s  +0.143s16.  GTE P  Kobayashi/Vilander              AF Ferrari              1m33.568s  +0.228s17.  GTE P  Bruni/Fisichella                AF Ferrari              1m33.584s  +0.244s18.  GTE P  Senna/Bell                      Aston Martin            1m33.818s  +0.478s19.  GTE P  Bergmeister/Pilet               Manthey Porsche         1m34.027s  +0.687s20.  GTE A  Gerber/Griffin/Cioci            AF Ferrari              1m34.577s21.  GTE A  Nygaard/Poulsen/Thiim           Aston Martin            1m34.585s  +0.008s22.  GTE A  Potolicchio/Aguas/Rigon         8Star Ferrari           1m34.616s  +0.039s23.  GTE A  Hall/Campbell-Walter            Aston Martin            1m34.773s  +0.196s24.  GTE A  Ried/Roda/Ruberti               Proton Porsche          1m35.027s  +0.450s25.  GTE A  Krohn/Jonsson/Mediani           Krohn Ferrari           1m35.125s  +0.548s26.  GTE A  Narac/Vernay/Bourret            Imsa Porsche            1m35.297s  +0.720s27.  GTE A  Bornhauser/Canal/Rees           Larbre Corvette         1m35.368s  +0.791s28.  P2     Graves/Walker/Kerr              Delta-ADR ORECA-NissanTimes are average of four laps, two drivers setting two each