Marquez edges Lorenzo at Silverstone

Marquez edges Lorenzo at Silverstone


Marquez edges Lorenzo at Silverstone


Marc Marquez won a battle with Jorge Lorenzo to secure the top spot in Friday morning MotoGP practice at Silverstone.

It took several attempts for championship leader Marquez to overcome the advantage Lorenzo held in the middle of the session.

But eventually he managed to outshine the Yamaha’s 2m04.035s benchmark with a 2m03.816s lap on his Honda.

Local hero Cal Crutchlow made an encouraging start to the weekend as he took third, just 0.009 second down on Lorenzo’s pace. Two Hondas completed the top five, Marquez’s teammate Dani Pedrosa followed by Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista.

Valentino Rossi was only sixth, 0.866sec off the pace.

Nicky Hayden was the fastest Ducati in eighth place, one spot ahead of Briton Bradley Smith on the second Tech 3 entry.

Aleix Espargaro again led the CRT runners for Aspar, sitting in the top 10 for a long while before being pushed back to 11th.

Follow the MotoGP weekend as it happens on Race Centre Live

Pos  Rider             Team/Bike             Time       Gap 1.  Marc Marquez      Honda                 2m03.816s 2.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                2m04.035s  +0.219s 3.  Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha         2m04.044s  +0.228s 4.  Dani Pedrosa      Honda                 2m04.431s  +0.615s 5.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda         2m04.455s  +0.639s 6.  Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                2m04.682s  +0.866s 7.  Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda             2m04.838s  +1.022s 8.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati                2m04.958s  +1.142s 9.  Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha         2m05.108s  +1.292s10.  Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                2m05.313s  +1.497s11.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia         2m05.525s  +1.709s12.  Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati         2m05.708s  +1.892s13.  Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  2m06.150s  +2.334s14.  Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia         2m06.262s  +2.446s15.  Colin Edwards     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  2m06.305s  +2.489s16.  Michele Pirro     Pramac Ducati         2m06.319s  +2.503s17.  Hiroshi Aoyama    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  2m06.691s  +2.875s18.  Yonny Hernandez   PBM Aprilia           2m06.796s  +2.980s19.  Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Suter-BMW        2m07.100s  +3.284s20.  Claudio Corti     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  2m07.361s  +3.545s21.  Michael Laverty   PBM-Aprilia           2m07.525s  +3.709s22.  Bryan Staring     Gresini FTR-Honda     2m08.631s  +4.815s23.  Lukas Pesek       Ioda-Suter-BMW        2m11.036s  +7.220s