Lorenzo tops MotoGP practice with sub-record lap

Lorenzo tops MotoGP practice with sub-record lap


Lorenzo tops MotoGP practice with sub-record lap


Jorge Lorenzo turned the tables on Marc Marquez in second MotoGP practice at Silverstone.

World champion Lorenzo banged in a sub-lap-record 2m02.734s as his very first lap of the afternoon. Marquez also pushed from the outset, but his Honda trailed the Yamaha by four tenths of a second. That was how they remained until the final few minutes, when Marquez got the gap down to 0.224 seconds.

Lorenzo could not be deposed, though, as he ended the first day of the British Grand Prix weekend on top. Two Hondas then two Yamahas completed the top six.

Marquez’s teammate Dani Pedrosa and Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista were third and fourth, ahead of Yamaha duo Valentino Rossi and Cal Crutchlow.

Aleix Espargaro was fastest in CRT as usual, beating Yonny Hernandez for class honours, but he missed out on an overall top-10 spot by 0.056sec. Gresini’s CRT rider Bryan Staring was the only man to crash, limping away from his bike at Farm.

Pos  Rider             Team/Bike             Time       Gap 1.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                2m02.734s 2.  Marc Marquez      Honda                 2m02.958s  +0.224s 3.  Dani Pedrosa      Honda                 2m03.192s  +0.458s 4.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda         2m03.463s  +0.729s 5.  Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                2m03.480s  +0.746s 6.  Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha         2m03.505s  +0.771s 7.  Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                2m03.658s  +0.924s 8.  Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha         2m03.750s  +1.016s 9.  Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda             2m03.784s  +1.050s10.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati                2m04.089s  +1.355s11.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia         2m04.145s  +1.411s12.  Yonny Hernandez   PBM Aprilia           2m04.476s  +1.742s13.  Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati         2m05.052s  +2.318s14.  Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia         2m05.069s  +2.335s15.  Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  2m05.266s  +2.532s16.  Michele Pirro     Pramac Ducati         2m05.438s  +2.704s17.  Colin Edwards     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  2m05.484s  +2.750s18.  Claudio Corti     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  2m05.506s  +2.772s19.  Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Suter-BMW        2m05.657s  +2.923s20.  Michael Laverty   PBM-Aprilia           2m05.977s  +3.243s21.  Hiroshi Aoyama    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  2m06.038s  +3.304s22.  Bryan Staring     Gresini FTR-Honda     2m07.854s  +5.120s23.  Lukas Pesek       Ioda-Suter-BMW        2m09.209s  +6.475s