GP2 leader Coletti tops practice

GP2 leader Coletti tops practice

Formula 2

GP2 leader Coletti tops practice


GP2 Series leader Stefano Coletti set the fastest time in free practice ahead of round eight at Spa-Francorchamps on Friday morning.

The Rapax driver lapped the Belgian Grand Prix venue in 1m58.386s, 0.059 second faster than James Calado of ART. Fabio Leimer, who is in the title hunt in third in the points, was third fastest, but almost two tenths off Coletti’s time.

Tom Dillmann was fourth fastest for Russian Time, ahead of series returnee Robin Frijns, who has replaced Jon Lancaster at Hilmer. His new teammate Adrian Quaife-Hobbs was sixth fastest but pulled off in the region of Stavelot/Paul Frere corner with a technical issue.

Carlin’s Felipe Nasr, the man second in the points, was only 12th fastest.

Pos Driver               Team                  Time      Gap      Laps 1. Stefano Coletti      Rapax                 1m58.386s           12 2. James Calado         ART                   1m58.445s  +0.059s  10 3. Fabio Leimer         Racing Engineering    1m58.581s  +0.195s  11 4. Tom Dillmann         Russian Time          1m58.864s  +0.478s  11 5. Robin Frijns         Hilmer                1m58.903s  +0.517s  11 6. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Hilmer                1m58.987s  +0.601s  12 7. Stephane Richelmi    DAMS                  1m59.057s  +0.671s  10 8. Marcus Ericsson      DAMS                  1m59.131s  +0.745s  10 9. Julian Leal          Racing Engineering    1m59.168s  +0.782s  1110. Nathanel Berthon     Trident               1m59.201s  +0.815s  1211. Alexander Rossi      Caterham              1m59.405s  +1.019s  1212. Felipe Nasr          Carlin                1m59.407s  +1.021s  1213. Sam Bird             Russian Time          1m59.447s  +1.061s  1214. Sergio Canamasas     Caterham              1m59.500s  +1.114s  1315. Mitch Evans          Arden                 1m59.575s  +1.189s   916. Johnny Cecotto Jr    Arden                 1m59.650s  +1.264s  1117. Dani Clos            MP                    1m59.685s  +1.299s  1218. Vittorio Ghirelli    Lazarus               1m59.748s  +1.362s  1219. Rene Binder          Lazarus               1m59.753s  +1.367s  1020. Daniel de Jong       MP                    1m59.891s  +1.505s  1121. Jolyon Palmer        Carlin                2m00.162s  +1.776s  1222. Simon Trummer        Rapax                 2m00.278s  +1.892s  1123. Daniel Abt           ART                   2m00.290s  +1.904s   924. Jake Rosenzweig      Addax                 2m00.375s  +1.989s  1125. Rio Haryanto         Addax                 2m00.407s  +2.021s  1126. Ricardo Teixeira     Trident               2m01.300s  +2.914s  10