Bradl surprises in second practice

Bradl surprises in second practice


Bradl surprises in second practice


Stefan Bradl set a surprise fastest time in the second MotoGP practice session at Brno.

Morning pacesetter Jorge Lorenzo had looked set to stay on top, only for Bradl to pop in a 1m56.500s as the checkered flag came out. That deposed the world champion’s Yamaha by just 0.038 second.

Bradl’s time came on a late run back on soft tires after he had earlier tried hards and been dissatisfied. Lorenzo led an all-Yamaha top three in the opening stages, but the Hondas gradually crept forward. Dani Pedrosa ended up third, 0.062s behind Lorenzo.

Championship leader Marc Marquez jumped to second for a spell, before finishing the day in fifth as Valentino Rossi’s last lap got him ahead.

Cal Crutchlow completed the top six, having been Lorenzo’s closest rival in the early stages, with his Tech 3 Yamaha teammate Bradley Smith next up.

Aleix Espargaro led the CRT field by over a second, and got ahead of Ben Spies’ Pramac stand-in Michele Pirro’s prototype Ducati.

Pos  Rider             Team/Bike             Time       Gap 1.  Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda             1m56.500s 2.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                1m56.538s  +0.038s 3.  Dani Pedrosa      Honda                 1m56.600s  +0.100s 4.  Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                1m56.726s  +0.226s 5.  Marc Marquez      Honda                 1m56.733s  +0.233s 6.  Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha         1m56.800s  +0.300s 7.  Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha         1m57.351s  +0.851s 8.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda         1m57.401s  +0.901s 9.  Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                1m57.754s  +1.254s10.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati                1m57.896s  +1.396s11.  Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati         1m58.039s  +1.539s12.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia         1m58.217s  +1.717s13.  Michele Pirro     Pramac Ducati         1m58.958s  +2.458s14.  Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  1m59.235s  +2.735s15.  Claudio Corti     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  1m59.288s  +2.788s16.  Colin Edwards     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  1m59.390s  +2.890s17.  Yonny Hernandez   PBM Aprilia           1m59.539s  +3.039s18.  Hiroshi Aoyama    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  1m59.613s  +3.113s19.  Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Suter-BMW        1m59.719s  +3.219s20.  Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia         1m59.799s  +3.299s21.  Michael Laverty   PBM-Aprilia           2m00.338s  +3.838s22.  Karel Abraham     Cardion Aprilia       2m00.413s  +3.913s23.  Martin Bauer      Remus Aprilia         2m00.730s  +4.230s24.  Lukas Pesek       Ioda-Suter-BMW        2m01.549s  +5.049s25.  Bryan Staring     Gresini FTR-Honda     2m01.746s  +5.246s

MX-5 Cup | Round 1 – Daytona | Livestream