Dixon takes third straight victory

Dixon takes third straight victory


Dixon takes third straight victory


Scott Dixon completed a hat-trick of wins and shot up to second in the IndyCar championship with a commanding performance in the second race of the Toronto double-header. The Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver started from pole, and aside from the pit stops, was never headed.

“It’s quite a turnaround in a couple of weeks. I hope we can keep (momentum) going,” said Dixon, whose next race is Aug. 4 at Mid-Ohio, where he’s won in the past two visits.

His dominance was masked by the fact that the race finished under yellows, but his lead over pursuer Helio Castroneves was as large as 16 seconds before caution periods intervened.

Sebastien Bourdais finished third to end the weekend with a double-podium for Dragon; this time earning his stripes by passing Will Power on the final restart.

“Things just turned our way,” said Bourdais, whose push-to-pass malfunctioned at the start. “I had a really good car on the restart. I was hooked up.” 

Power got out of shape in the process and drifted into Ryan Hunter-Reay, putting both into the wall. The unlucky Takuma Sato was left with nowhere to go and also ended up in the barrier.

Dario Franchitti’s race was compromised early on when he damaged his front wing against the back of Power’s car on the opening lap, forcing him to pit for repairs. He recovered up to 10th without the help of a caution period, and then capitalized on the late yellows to gain a further six places and salvage fourth ahead of EJ Viso and Charlie Kimball.

The Scot had one extra piece of good luck fall his way in that he was able to shed his red tyres when he stopped at the end of the first lap, taking advantage of a double-header rule that waives the requirement that the reds be used for a minimum of two green-flag laps.

Mike Conway put in another starring performance for Dale Coyne Racing, climbing 16 places to finish seventh ahead of teammate Justin Wilson.

Both of the race’s caution periods were caused by single-car accidents at Turn 5, the first coming courtesy of James Jakes before Ed Carpenter repeated the trick a few laps later.

Tony Kanaan’s race also ended in the barriers, although he was able to get his car off the track without the race being interrupted.

The series made a second attempt at a standing start for Sunday’s race after Saturday’s was abandoned, and this time the procedure was completed with success.

The only driver who was not able to participate was James Hinchcliffe, who missed the start after developing a stuck throttle just prior to the installation lap. After repairs in the pits, he eventually joined the race three laps down.

Results - 85 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Engine           Time/Gap
 1.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi/Honda    1h35m02.3755s
 2.  Helio Castroneves    Penske/Chevy          +0.8772s
 3.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon/Chevy          +1.7213s
 4.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi/Honda         +2.7630s
 5.  EJ Viso              Andretti/Chevy        +3.5804s
 6.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi/Honda         +4.4245s
 7.  Mike Conway          Coyne/Honda           +5.0432s
 8.  Justin Wilson        Coyne/Honda           +5.4582s
 9.  Marco Andretti       Andretti/Chevy        +5.8601s
10.  Alex Tagliani        Herta/Honda           +7.1766s
11.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher/Honda          +7.8430s
12.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt/Honda        +14.4211s
13.  Sebastian Saavedra   Dragon/Chevy            +1 lap
14.  Graham Rahal         Rahal/Honda             +1 lap
15.  Simona de Silvestro  KV/Chevy                +1 lap
16.  Tristan Vautier      Schmidt/Honda           +1 lap
17.  Carlos Munoz         Panther/Chevy           +1 lap


     Will Power           Penske/Chevy           83 laps
     Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti/Chevy         83 laps
     Takuma Sato          Foyt/Honda             83 laps
     James Hinchcliffe    Andretti/Chevy         81 laps
     Ed Carpenter         Carpenter/Chevy        77 laps
     James Jakes          Rahal/Honda            62 laps
     Tony Kanaan          KV/Chevy               35 laps

All drivers use Dallara DW12 chassis