MotoGP to allow four riders per team

MotoGP to allow four riders per team


MotoGP to allow four riders per team


Works MotoGP teams will be allowed to expand to four riders from 2014 following a rules adjustment.

The Grand Prix Commission has agreed to change a 2012 rule limiting factory squads to two entries from the start of next year. At present, manufacturers Honda, Yamaha and Ducati each field two works bikes in their own teams and offer varying degrees of support to two further riders in satellite teams.

The last works MotoGP team to regularly run three riders was Honda with Casey Stoner, Dani Pedrosa and Andrea Dovizioso in 2011, although Ducati has added test driver Michele Pirro as a wildcard alongside regulars Dovizioso and Nicky Hayden on occasion this year.

The change adds to a shake-up of the MotoGP entry list for 2014 as Yamaha offers engines to independent teams and Honda introduces a new low-cost production racer to tempt entrants currently running in the slower CRT class.