Dillmann leads Russian Time front row in GP2

Dillmann leads Russian Time front row in GP2

Formula 2

Dillmann leads Russian Time front row in GP2


Russian Time teammates Tom Dillman and Sam Bird swept the front row for Saturday’s GP2 race in Hungary. However, Bird’s second fastest time is under investigation following an on-track incident with Caterham’s Sergio Canamasas.

Dillman set his pole time of 1m28.219s early on in the 30-minute session, but while he failed to improve, such was his advantage it remained enough for the top spot.

Fabio Leimer briefly stole second for Racing Engineering, before a late improvement for Bird restored the Russian Time clean sweep.

Felipe Nasr made light of his lack of running in free practice by taking fourth for Carlin, and with James Calado back in 14th for ART and championship leader Stefano Coletti a dismal 18th for Rapax, the championship race could be thrown wide open.

There was a breakthrough performance for MP’s Daniel de Jong, who set the 10th-astest time, but he will take a five-place penalty for the race. His new teammate Dani Clos will line up 23rd, one place behind the man he replaced, Adrian Quaife-Hobbs, who will be disappointed with 22nd in his first outing for Hilmer.

After setting the second best time in practice, Canamasas was only 24th in qualifying, while his Caterham teammate Alexander Rossi will line up ninth.

Marcus Ericsson and DAMS teammate Stephane Richelmi take the third row, while Jolyon Palmer qualified seventh for Carlin, despite blowing what could have been a faster effort with a late error.


Pos  Driver               Team                Time       Gap
 1.  Tom Dillmann         Russian Time        1m28.219s
 2.  Sam Bird             Russian Time        1m28.296s  +0.077s
 3.  Fabio Leimer         Racing Engineering  1m28.507s  +0.288s
 4.  Felipe Nasr          Carlin              1m28.679s  +0.460s
 5.  Marcus Ericsson      DAMS                1m28.709s  +0.490s
 6.  Stephane Richelmi    DAMS                1m28.753s  +0.534s
 7.  Jolyon Palmer        Carlin              1m28.802s  +0.583s
 8.  Rio Haryanto         Addax               1m28.826s  +0.607s
 9.  Alexander Rossi      Caterham            1m28.851s  +0.632s
10.  Daniel de Jong       MP                  1m28.855s  +0.636s
11.  Johnny Cecotto Jr    Arden               1m28.927s  +0.708s
12.  Mitch Evans          Arden               1m29.012s  +0.793s
13.  Nathanael Berthon    Trident             1m29.020s  +0.801s
14.  James Calado         ART                 1m29.128s  +0.909s
15.  Jon Lancaster        Hilmer              1m29.136s  +0.917s
16.  Jake Rosenzweig      Addax               1m29.206s  +0.987s
17.  Simon Trummer        Rapax               1m29.403s  +1.184s
18.  Stefano Coletti      Rapax               1m29.519s  +1.300s
19.  Julian Leal          Racing Engineering  1m29.524s  +1.305s
20.  Daniel Abt           ART                 1m29.735s  +1.516s
21.  Rene Binder          Lazarus             1m29.742s  +1.523s
22.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Hilmer              1m29.793s  +1.574s
23.  Dani Clos            MP                  1m29.877s  +1.658s
24.  Sergio Canamasas     Caterham            1m30.078s  +1.859s
25.  Vittorio Ghirelli    Lazarus             1m30.251s  +2.032s
26.  Ricardo Teixeira     Trident             1m31.254s  +3.035s