Berthon secures first GP2 victory

Berthon secures first GP2 victory


Berthon secures first GP2 victory


Nathanael Berthon claimed his first ever GP2 win with a faultless performance in Hungary. He made full use of his reversed-grid pole position to lead into the first corner.

An opening-lap safety car period meant he had to fend off the charge of Mitch Evans once again, but he did this with aplomb, holding a 1.7-second lead after the first racing lap.

That was as close as it ever got. If the rivals were expecting the Trident car’s tyres to drop off, they were left disappointed and Berton claimed the team’s first win since Istanbul 2011.

Evans always had Berthon within his sights, but was never close enough to challenge. The lead duo were miles ahead of the rest, led home by Fabio Leimer.

It was a good result for the Racing Engineering man’s title charge as once again points leader Stefano Coletti suffered a poor result. Contact forced him to pit for a new nose and during the stop he ran over a wheel gun, further delaying the process. He eventually finished 20th.

Having used just the choice medium tires in Saturday’s race, yesterday’s winner Jolyon Palmer struggled to 12th on the softs.

Marcus Ericsson made a great start and took fourth, Felipe Nasr kept up his relentless points scoring with fifth, while James Calado made a great start to get himself into sixth.

In a race of little action, feature race polesitter Tom Dillmann pulled off a series of moves to rise from 20th on the grid to 11th.


Results - 28 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team                   Time/Gap
 1.  Nathanael Berthon    Trident             45m06.319s
 2.  Mitch Evans          Arden                  +2.239s
 3.  Fabio Leimer         Racing Engineering    +13.441s
 4.  Marcus Ericsson      DAMS                  +15.983s
 5.  Felipe Nasr          Carlin                +23.367s
 6.  James Calado         ART                   +27.216s
 7.  Simon Trummer        Rapax                 +31.387s
 8.  Sam Bird             Russian Time          +37.958s
 9.  Stephane Richelmi    DAMS                  +40.002s
10.  Rio Haryanto         Addax                 +43.991s
11.  Tom Dillmann         Russian Time          +44.383s
12.  Jolyon Palmer        Carlin                +51.408s
13.  Rene Binder          Lazarus               +51.699s
14.  Daniel Abt           ART                   +56.342s
15.  Jake Rosenzweig      Addax               +1m01.084s
16.  Alexander Rossi      Caterham            +1m05.663s
17.  Vittorio Ghirelli    Lazarus             +1m11.592s
18.  Jon Lancaster        Hilmer              +1m12.378s
19.  Ricardo Teixeira     Trident             +1m13.045s
20.  Julian Leal          Racing Engineering     +1 laps


     Stefano Coletti      Rapax                  27 laps
     Dani Clos            MP                     24 laps
     Johnny Cecotto Jr    Arden                  19 laps
     Sergio Canamasas     Caterham                 1 lap
     Daniel de Jong       MP                      0 laps
     Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Hilmer                  0 laps