Logano sets record Michigan NASCAR pole

Logano sets record Michigan NASCAR pole

Cup Series

Logano sets record Michigan NASCAR pole


Joey Logano claimed pole for Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Michigan with a blistering lap at 203.949mph.

Practice hinted that record speeds were in prospect, and top three qualifiers Logano, Kurt Busch and Jimmie Johnson all beat the previous mark with their laps. Busch was on provisional pole for a few more moments before being deposed by Penske driver Logano’s 35.303-second effort.

Johnson had been fastest in morning practice, but cloud cover had given way to bright sunshine by the time he ran and third was the best he could do.

Provisional pole had changed hands repeatedly in a busy mid-qualifying spell, and veterans Mark Martin and Jeff Burton each held it briefly before Logano and Busch’s runs. Martin and Burton stayed near the front in fourth and fifth.

In the week that his impending departure from Earnhardt Ganassi was revealed, Juan Pablo Montoya was on provisional pole for the first quarter of the session and ended up sixth. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch completed the top 10.

Austin Dillon qualified 27th while standing in for the injured Tony Stewart at Stewart-Haas.

The race attracted 44 entrants, leaving Landon Cassill outside the qualifying cut.

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                     Time     Gap 1.  Joey Logano         Penske Ford                  35.303s 2.  Kurt Busch          Furniture Row Chevrolet      35.347s  +0.044s 3.  Jimmie Johnson      Hendrick Chevrolet           35.386s  +0.083s 4.  Mark Martin         Waltrip Toyota               35.430s  +0.127s 5.  Jeff Burton         Childress Chevrolet          35.448s  +0.145s 6.  Juan Pablo Montoya  Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet  35.470s  +0.167s 7.  Dale Earnhardt Jr   Hendrick Chevrolet           35.500s  +0.197s 8.  Denny Hamlin        Joe Gibbs Toyota             35.503s  +0.200s 9.  Brad Keselowski     Penske Ford                  35.516s  +0.213s10.  Kyle Busch          Joe Gibbs Toyota             35.576s  +0.273s11.  Clint Bowyer        Waltrip Toyota               35.590s  +0.287s12.  Matt Kenseth        Joe Gibbs Toyota             35.603s  +0.300s13.  Jeff Gordon         Hendrick Chevrolet           35.623s  +0.320s14.  Aric Almirola       Petty Ford                   35.679s  +0.376s15.  Kevin Harvick       Childress Chevrolet          35.707s  +0.404s16.  Greg Biffle         Roush Fenway Ford            35.716s  +0.413s17.  Martin Truex Jr     Waltrip Toyota               35.716s  +0.413s18.  Trevor Bayne        Wood Brothers Ford           35.761s  +0.458s19.  Carl Edwards        Roush Fenway Ford            35.815s  +0.512s20.  Paul Menard         Childress Chevrolet          35.868s  +0.565s21.  Ryan Newman         Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       35.890s  +0.587s22.  Ricky Stenhouse Jr  Roush Fenway Ford            35.890s  +0.587s23.  David Gilliland     Front Row Ford               35.907s  +0.604s24.  David Ragan         Front Row Ford               35.953s  +0.650s25.  David Reutimann     BK Toyota                    35.968s  +0.665s26.  Marcos Ambrose      Petty Ford                   36.001s  +0.698s27.  Austin Dillon       Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       36.003s  +0.700s28.  Danica Patrick      Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       36.056s  +0.753s29.  Jamie McMurray      Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet  36.087s  +0.784s30.  Bobby Labonte       JTG Daugherty Toyota         36.212s  +0.909s31.  Kasey Kahne         Hendrick Chevrolet           36.381s  +1.078s32.  Scott Speed         Leavine Ford                 36.418s  +1.115s33.  Casey Mears         Germain Ford                 36.424s  +1.121s34.  Timmy Hill          FAS Lane Ford                36.543s  +1.240s35.  JJ Yeley            Baldwin Chevrolet            36.546s  +1.243s36.  David Stremme       Swan Toyota                  36.552s  +1.249s37.  Joe Nemechek        NEMCO Toyota                 36.582s  +1.279s38.  Travis Kvapil       BK Toyota                    36.707s  +1.404s39.  Brendan Gaughan     Phoenix Chevrolet            36.795s  +1.492s40.  Josh Wise           Front Row Ford               36.808s  +1.505s41.  Johnny Sauter       Parsons Ford                 36.889s  +1.586s42.  Dave Blaney         Baldwin Chevrolet            37.010s  +1.707s43.  Scott Riggs         Humphrey Smith Toyota        37.234s  +1.931s44.  Landon Cassill      Circle Sport Chevrolet       37.378s  +2.031s