Power edges Dixon in second Mid-Ohio IndyCar practice

Power edges Dixon in second Mid-Ohio IndyCar practice


Power edges Dixon in second Mid-Ohio IndyCar practice


A last-gasp effort from Will Power was rewarded with the bragging rights after the second IndyCar practice session at Mid-Ohio.

Penske driver Power registered a 1m05.4332s on his final lap to take the top spot from Ganassi’s Scott Dixon, who had also done his best time right at the end but finished up 0.01 second short.

“We got a good time in at the end. A few mistakes during the session but we’re narrowing it down,” Power said. “I’d love nothing more than to get on the pole here and have a chance to win a race. But good so far, and we’ll keep working hard.” 

Until the last couple of minutes the benchmark had been Ryan Hunter-Reay, whose time was still good enough for third-fastest ahead of Dario Franchitti, while series debutant Luca Filippi did a great job to finish up fifth for Bryan Herta Autosport.

Fellow first-timer James Davison’s day ended with the Australian in 19th, while Dale Coyne Racing team-mate Justin Wilson’s afternoon was derailed by an engine problem that restricted the Englishman to just two flying laps.

The afternoon was interrupted by two brief stoppages, the first coming when James Hinchcliffe went off at Turn 11 and the second when Tony Kanaan hit the tires at Turn 12, although both were able to rejoin the session later.

Pos  Driver              Team/Car         Time        Gap 1.  Will Power          Penske/Chevy     1m05.4332s 2.  Scott Dixon         Ganassi/Honda    1m05.4469s  +0.0137s 3.  Ryan Hunter-Reay    Andretti/Chevy   1m05.5018s  +0.0686s 4.  Dario Franchitti    Ganassi/Honda    1m05.7019s  +0.2687s 5.  Luca Filippi        Herta/Honda      1m05.7364s  +0.3032s 6.  Charlie Kimball     Ganassi/Honda    1m05.7692s  +0.3360s 7.  Marco Andretti      Andretti/Chevy   1m05.7796s  +0.3464s 8.  James Hinchcliffe   Andretti/Chevy   1m05.7939s  +0.3607s 9.  Simon Pagenaud      Schmidt/Honda    1m05.8653s  +0.4321s10.  Simoa de Silvestro  KV/Chevy         1m05.8714s  +0.4382s11.  Tony Kanaan         KV/Chevy         1m05.9295s  +0.4963s12.  Helio Castroneves   Penske/Chevy     1m05.9422s  +0.5090s13.  Sebastien Bourdais  Dragon/Chevy     1m06.0223s  +0.5891s14.  Josef Newgarden     Fisher/Honda     1m06.0886s  +0.6554s15.  Tristan Vautier     Schmidt/Honda    1m06.0979s  +0.6647s16.  EJ Viso             Andretti/Chevy   1m06.1083s  +0.6751s17.  Oriol Servia        Panther/Chevy    1m06.1330s  +0.6998s18.  Graham Rahal        Rahal/Honda      1m06.2438s  +0.8106s19.  James Davison       Coyne/Honda      1m06.4680s  +1.0348s20.  James Jakes         Rahal/Honda      1m06.5809s  +1.1477s21.  Sebastian Saavedra  Dragon/Chevy     1m06.6246s  +1.1914s22.  Takuma Sato         Foyt/Honda       1m07.3160s  +1.8828s23.  Ed Carpenter        Carpenter/Chevy  1m07.7526s  +2.3194s24.  Justin Wilson       Coyne/Honda      1m10.3923s  +4.9591s