Mostert gives Dick Johnson V8 Supercar win

Mostert gives Dick Johnson V8 Supercar win

Supercars Championship

Mostert gives Dick Johnson V8 Supercar win


Chaz Mostert pulled off a sensational maifirst den V8 Supercars victory in the weekend’s third race at Ipswich’s Queensland Raceway.

The rookie put the little-fancied Dick Johnson Ford on the front row in qualifying and, with the track damp from a brief rain shower, reaped the benefits of starting on the drier side of the circuit. He beat poleman Will Davison into Turn 1 and from there led the way until the checkered flag in a largely uneventful afternoon for the youngster, compared to those behind him.

Scott McLaughlin was promoted to second place after Tim Slade and Davison ran wide at Turn 3 on the laps two and six respectively – the latter after slipping on oil deposited by Tim Blanchard’s Ford.

Positions remained stable throughout the opening phase of the race until a succession of left-front tyre failures shuffled the order.

Current championship leader Jamie Whincup was the first to experience a tire delimination while running in eighth on lap eight. It resulted in significant panel damage and lost him a lap in the process. He was forced to pit again on lap 19 for further checks and ultimately finished in 25th position.

The most significant casualty from the tire issues, however, was McLaughlin who had been keeping tabs on Mostert but was forced to pit on lap 22 and lost a likely podium finish. Davison was therefore gifted second place which he held until the finish, with Mark Winnterbottom rounding off the top three after keeping his nose clean and making up five positions in the race.

David Reynolds claimed fourth, as Fabian Coulthard scythed through the field from 12th to finish in the top five, ahead of Craig Lowndes who had a less torrid afternoon than his Triple 8 teammate.

Mostert’s win is the legendary Dick Johnson team’s first since 2010. The squad scaled back from four to two cars during a turbulent winter and initially struggled at the back of the field this season.

Results - 32 laps:Pos  Driver               Team                           Time/Gap 1.  Chaz Mostert         Dick Johnson Ford           38m01.9510s 2.  Will Davison         FPR Ford                        +2.010s 3.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                        +3.994s 4.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford               +7.608s 5.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden               +7.977s 6.  Craig Lowndes        Triple 8 Holden                 +8.399s 7.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden              +14.984s 8.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/Erebus Mercedes      +15.972s 9.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                         +23.237s10.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                         +23.421s11.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden                   +26.327s12.  James Moffat         Nissan                         +26.475s13.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Holden               +28.817s14.  Jonathon Webb        Tekno Holden                   +29.519s15.  Dean Fiore           Dumbrell Holden                +29.748s16.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                         +31.154s17.  Maro Engel           Erebus Mercedes                +31.461s18.  Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes                +34.754s19.  Scott Pye            Dumbrell Holden                +40.327s20.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Holden                     +53.588s21.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden                     +54.906s22.  Alex Davison         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford            +55.736s23.  James Courtney       HRT Holden                       +1 lap24.  David Wall           Britek/BJR Holden                +1 lap25.  Jamie Whincup        Triple 8 Holden                 +2 laps26.  Alexandre Premat     GRM Holden                      +6 lapsRetirements:     Tim Blanchard        Dick Johnson Ford                6 laps     Russell Ingall       Walkinshaw/HRT Holden            0 laps