Dixon prevails in Toronto opener

Dixon prevails in Toronto opener


Dixon prevails in Toronto opener


Scott Dixon became the first back-to-back winner of the IndyCar season after taking victory in the opening race of this weekend’s double-header at Toronto.

The Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver stayed out a lap longer than then-leader Will Power to take the advantage during the final round of stops, but was passed by Dragon Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais on a restart with 16 laps remaining.

There was some dispute over whether Bourdais moved early, although it was reviewed and declared clean by race control. Although Bourdais was ahead, the combination of fading red tires and the fact that he was out of push-to-pass left him vulnerable to Dixon, and the New Zealander picked him off a short time later.

With a clear track, Dixon opened a gap of 3.3 seconds, only to lose it when Alex Tagliani spun while trying to pass Simon Pagenaud and brought out the yellows again. The restart came with a lap to go, this time with the field organised in single-file, and Dixon nailed it to secure the win.

Bourdais held on to finish second in a dramatic turnaround for Dragon Racing after the team’s poor start to the season, while early race leader Dario Franchitti survived a late lunge from Power to cross the line in third.

But even as the Scot was celebrating on the podium, word came from race control that he had been issued a time penalty for blocking Power on the final lap, dropping him to 13th and promoting Marco Andretti to third.

“Will chose a line, he couldn’t stop, he bounced off of me … I just don’t know,” said Franchitti.

After the race, IndyCar officials met with Franchitti and Target Chip Ganassi Racing team members to further review the blocking penalty. The team presented car data showing steering trace and braking points from the incident, while the group also viewed additional video. Upon further review, IndyCar reinstated Franchitti to his original third-place finishing position. 

The encounter with Franchitti didn’t work out well for Power either, who had lunged into a miniscule gap between the Scot and the wall, bounced off the Ganassi car, and went nose-first into the Turn 3 barrier. In a blink, he plummeted from fourth to 15th.

Typically for Toronto there were a number of incidents but few drivers had more things go wrong than reigning champion Ryan Hunter-Reay, who stalled in both of his stops, and then hit the wall while battling Andretti teammate EJ Viso. As a result, Helio Castroneves again stretched his points lead with a fifth-place finish.

The race was scheduled to feature the first-ever standing start in an IndyCar-sanctioned race, but that was abandoned when Josef Newgarden stalled on the grid. Under the regulations, the race was switched to a rolling start.

Results - 85 laps:Pos  Driver               Team/Car                Time/Gap 1.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi/Honda      1h41m17.0605s 2.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon/Chevy            +1.7007s 3.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi/Honda          +27.9116s 4.  Marco Andretti       Andretti/Chevy          +3.7273s 5.  Tony Kanaan          KV/Chevy                +4.5961s 6.  Helio Castroneves    Penske/Chevy            +5.0720s 7.  Mike Conway          Coyne/Honda             +5.5749s 8.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti/Chevy          +8.6580s 9.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt/Honda          +10.2140s10.  Simona de Silvestro  KV/Chevy               +10.8797s11.  Justin Wilson        Coyne/Honda            +11.3536s12.  James Jakes          Rahal/Honda            +11.6899s13.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter/Chevy        +13.0557s14.  EJ Viso              Andretti/Chevy         +47.5037s15.  Will Power           Penske/Chevy              +1 lap16.  Sebastian Saavedra   Dragon/Chevy              +1 lap17.  Alex Tagliani        Herta/Honda               +1 lap18.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti/Chevy           +2 laps19.  Tristan Vautier      Schmidt/Honda            +2 laps20.  Graham Rahal         Rahal/Honda              +3 laps21.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi/Honda           +13 laps22.  Ryan Briscoe         Panther/Chevy           +21 laps                                                 Retirements:                                                                                    Josef Newgarden      Fisher/Honda             34 laps     Takuma Sato          Foyt/Honda               32 laps

MX-5 Cup | Round 9 – Road America | Livestream