Hunter-Reay sets early Toronto pace

Hunter-Reay sets early Toronto pace


Hunter-Reay sets early Toronto pace


Ryan Hunter-Reay has opened this weekend’s IndyCar double-header at Toronto by setting the pace in practice.

The Andretti driver moved to the top with 15 minutes remaining with a 1m00.6082s lap, leaving him just 0.07 seconds clear of the 1m00.6851s effort delivered by Josef Newgarden on his final run.

Ryan Briscoe finished up third fastest ahead of Tristan Vautier and Marco Andretti, both of whom improved right at the end. RLL’s James Jakes, who had held the top spot through most of the session, was shuffled down to eighth.

The morning was interrupted twice by red flags; the first being triggered when Will Power went off and stalled at Turn 3, and the latter coming when Dario Franchitti brushed the wall exiting Turn 5.

Power was also involved in an incident with Penske teammate Helio Castroneves in the final minute, but despite finishing up with a damaged front wing the Australian still managed to post the sixth-fastest time.

As well as being the only opportunity to prepare cars for first qualifying later today, the session also featured a set of staging lights at the end of pitlane, with all drivers required to complete at least one practice standing start ahead of the first IndyCar-sanctioned standing start race tomorrow.

Pos  Driver               Team/Engine      Time        Gap 1.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti/Chevy   1m00.6082s 2.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher/Honda     1m00.6851s  +0.0769s 3.  Ryan Briscoe         Panther/Chevy    1m00.6890s  +0.0808s 4.  Tristan Vautier      Schmidt/Honda    1m00.7016s  +0.0934s 5.  Marco Andretti       Andretti/Chevy   1m00.7174s  +0.1092s 6.  Will Power           Penske/Chevy     1m00.8987s  +0.2905s 7.  Tony Kanaan          KV/Chevy         1m00.9041s  +0.2959s 8.  James Jakes          Rahal/Honda      1m00.9096s  +0.3014s 9.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi/Honda    1m00.9518s  +0.3436s10.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon/Chevy     1m00.9535s  +0.3453s11.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti/Chevy   1m00.9556s  +0.3474s12.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi/Honda    1m00.9660s  +0.3578s13.  Justin Wilson        Coyne/Honda      1m00.9713s  +0.3631s14.  Alex Tagliani        Herta/Honda      1m00.9989s  +0.3907s15.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi/Honda    1m01.1137s  +0.5055s16.  Helio Castroneves    Penske/Chevy     1m01.1784s  +0.5702s17.  Graham Rahal         Rahal/Honda      1m01.3196s  +0.7114s18.  EJ Viso              Andretti/Chevy   1m01.3598s  +0.7516s19.  Sebastian Saavedra   Dragon/Chevy     1m01.7237s  +1.1155s20.  Takuma Sato          Foyt/Honda       1m01.7904s  +1.1822s21.  Simona de Silvestro  KV/Chevy         1m01.8553s  +1.2471s22.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt/Honda    1m01.9192s  +1.3110s23.  Mike Conway          Coyne/Honda      1m02.0817s  +1.4735s24.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter/Chevy  1m02.9043s  +2.2961sAll drivers use Dallara DW12 chassis