Bradl fastest as Lorenzo crashes heavily

Bradl fastest as Lorenzo crashes heavily


Bradl fastest as Lorenzo crashes heavily


Stefan Bradl led a Honda top-three lockout in a second MotoGP Sachsenring practice session marred by a huge accident for the already injured Jorge Lorenzo.

The Spaniard carried on his morning momentum to put Yamaha top early on, but just three minutes in he was flicked off his bike at Turn 10 and landed on the left collarbone he broke at Assen. He spent the remainder of the session in the medical center undergoing checks. No information about his condition has yet been released.

Cal Crutchlow also crashed heavily, losing the front of his Tech 3 Yamaha on a bump just before the apex of the downhill Turn 11. He was sent flying through the gravel and, after his won trip to the medical center, did not head back out.

In the pair’s absence, the pace was set by home favorite Stefan Bradl on the satellite LCR Honda. Works rider Dani Pedrosa snatched second from stable-mate Marc Marquez as the checkered flag fell. Lorenzo was fourth fastest, just one thousandth of a second slower than Marquez and within 0.25sec of Bradl.

His Yamaha teammate Valentino Rossi, who triumphed last time out in the Dutch TT, was fifth ahead of Nicky Hayden, Aleix Espargaro and Andrea Dovizioso. Hayden, who saved a massive tank-slapper in FP1, made another remarkable recovery to prevent crashing early on at Turn 9. His clean run came to an end late on however when he lost his Ducati at Turn 3, mirroring Bryan Staring’s earlier off at the same corner.

Pos Rider              Team/Bike              Time       Gap     Laps 1. Stefan Bradl       LCR Honda              1m22.030s           23 2. Dani Pedrosa       Honda                  1m22.239s  +0.209s  25 3. Marc Marquez       Honda                  1m22.251s  +0.221s  23 4. Jorge Lorenzo      Yamaha                 1m22.252s  +0.222s   3 5. Valentino Rossi    Yamaha                 1m22.395s  +0.365s  24 6. Nicky Hayden       Ducati                 1m22.572s  +0.542s  19 7. Aleix Espargaro    Aspar Aprilia          1m22.763s  +0.733s  20 8. Andrea Dovizioso   Ducati                 1m22.850s  +0.820s  22 9. Alvaro Bautista    Gresini Honda          1m22.976s  +0.946s  2310. Andrea Iannone     Pramac Ducati          1m23.008s  +0.978s  2211. Bradley Smith      Tech 3 Yamaha          1m23.040s  +1.010s  2412. Randy de Puniet    Aspar Aprilia          1m23.255s  +1.225s  2513. Michele Pirro      Pramac Ducati          1m23.491s  +1.461s  1914. Yonny Hernandez    PBM Aprilia            1m23.524s  +1.494s  2215. Hector Barbera     Avintia FTR-Kawasaki   1m23.627s  +1.597s  2416. Michael Laverty    PBM-Aprilia            1m23.636s  +1.606s  2217. Danilo Petrucci    Ioda-Suter-BMW         1m23.866s  +1.836s  2618. Colin Edwards      Forward FTR-Kawasaki   1m23.911s  +1.881s  2419. Cal Crutchlow      Tech 3 Yamaha          1m23.932s  +1.902s   620. Claudio Corti      Forward FTR-Kawasaki   1m24.078s  +2.048s  2321. Hiroshi Aoyama     Avintia FTR-Kawasaki   1m24.647s  +2.617s  2422. Bryan Staring      Gresini FTR-Honda      1m24.862s  +2.832s  2123. Lukas Pesek        Ioda-Suter-BMW         1m25.568s  +3.538s  23