Hamilton leads Rosberg in first practice

Hamilton leads Rosberg in first practice

Formula 1

Hamilton leads Rosberg in first practice


Lewis Hamilton edged out teammate Nico Rosberg as Mercedes took command of the first German Grand Prix practice session.

The Briton finished more than one second clear of the entire field bar Rosberg, with whom he traded fastest laps as the squad hit the front at the halfway stage. Hamilton eventually settled the fight with a 1m31.754s which put him two tenths clear of Rosberg, victorious last time out at Silverstone.

Red Bull’s Mark Webber prevailed in what was a much tighter fight for third, eclipsing the lead Force India of Adrian Sutil by just 0.033sec.

Kimi Raikkonen, Felipe Massa and Jenson Button all got within four tenths of Webber’s time. Despite Massa’s pace it was an unhappy session for Ferrari, however, as Fernando Alonso failed to complete a lap due to electrical issues.

The Spaniard lost power and abandoned his car just four minutes into the session, and then suffered an almost identical failure 40 minutes later on what was his second attempt at a first installation lap. This time he was at least able to revive the car and return to the pits, but was unable to return and ended the session with just two aborted laps under his belt.

Sebastian Vettel, Alonso’s chief championship rival, ended the session in eighth ahead of Romain Grosjean, who slipped in front of Sergio Perez and Paul di Resta as the checkered flag fell.

Pos Driver                Team                    Time      Gap      Laps 1. Lewis Hamilton        Mercedes                1m31.754s            25 2. Nico Rosberg          Mercedes                1m31.973s  + 0.219s  25 3. Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault        1m32.789s  + 1.035s  22 4. Adrian Sutil          Force India-Mercedes    1m32.822s  + 1.068s  16 5. Kimi Raikkonen        Lotus-Renault           1m32.956s  + 1.202s  22 6. Felipe Massa          Ferrari                 1m33.065s  + 1.311s  18 7. Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes        1m33.139s  + 1.385s  24 8. Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault        1m33.213s  + 1.459s  20 9. Romain Grosjean       Lotus-Renault           1m33.260s  + 1.506s  2710. Sergio Perez          McLaren-Mercedes        1m33.456s  + 1.702s  1811. Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercedes    1m33.493s  + 1.739s  1812. Nico Hulkenberg       Sauber-Ferrari          1m33.810s  + 2.056s  2013. Daniel Ricciardo      Toro Rosso-Ferrari      1m33.901s  + 2.147s  2314. Jean-Eric Vergne      Toro Rosso-Ferrari      1m33.976s  + 2.222s  2615. Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Renault        1m34.025s  + 2.271s  2016. Valtteri Bottas       Williams-Renault        1m34.200s  + 2.446s  2217. Esteban Gutierrez     Sauber-Ferrari          1m34.437s  + 2.683s  2418. Charles Pic           Caterham-Renault        1m35.674s  + 3.920s  2319. Max Chilton           Marussia-Cosworth       1m35.987s  + 4.233s  1920. Giedo van der Garde   Caterham-Renault        1m36.078s  + 4.324s  2321. Rodolfo Gonzalez      Marussia-Cosworth       1m37.459s  + 5.705s  2122. Fernando Alonso       Ferrari                 no time               2